Is Denmark A Country?

Christiansborg Palace in Copenhagen is the seat of the Danish Parliament.
Christiansborg Palace in Copenhagen is the seat of the Danish Parliament.

The Kingdom of Denmark is a sovereign state in Northern Europe. It is a Nordic country and occupies the southernmost part of the Scandinavian region. Denmark borders Norway, Sweden, and Germany. Apart from the mainland, Denmark also consists of Greenland and the Faroe Islands that are autonomous territories, and a series of islands in the North Atlantic Ocean. Mainland Denmark covers an area of about 16,573 sq mi and 853,509 sq mi when the Faroe Islands and Greenland are included.

Country Definition

A country is a geographic region with a distinct national entity, political characteristics, legal jurisdiction, and defined boundaries. Most countries are sovereign states that govern themselves. A country is formed by the merger of several states, separation from another country, or the ownership of unclaimed land. Governments run countries through a system of governance. The United Nations recognizes 193 sovereign states or countries around the world, one of which is Denmark.


Denmark is governed as a constitutional monarchy where the monarch is the head of state while the prime minister is the head of government. The parliament is unicameral, and its primary function is to pass laws. The sovereignty of the country is guaranteed by the constitution that also protects the rights of the Danish people.

Independence of Denmark

During the First World War, Denmark chose to remain a neutral state because joining the war on either side would be devastating to the country. The state could not export goods overseas because of the German blockade, and the economy deteriorated. Food and fuel were rationed until the fall of Germany. At the start of the Second World War, Adolf Hitler offered and non-aggression pact to the Scandinavian countries. Norway and Sweden rejected, but Denmark accepted and declared itself neutral. However, Germany occupied Denmark in the bid to stem the resistance in Norway. The British occupied the Faroe Islands and Iceland, and in the process, Iceland declared independence from Denmark. Despite the occupation, Denmark retained its monarchy and government. The Danes played a crucial part in smuggling millions of Jews from Germany to Sweden and refused to treat Germans fleeing Germany. Denmark does not mark Independence Day as other countries, but it instead recognizes Constitution Day on 5 June.

Present-Day Denmark

Present-day Denmark is a developed country that ranks high in the global livability index. It is among the best states to live in because of developed infrastructure, education, healthcare, and affordability. Copenhagen is both the capital and largest city. It is a member of the European Union but not the Eurozone. It is also a member of the United Nations and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. The country has a GDP of $286.766 billion and a per capita income of $49,883.


More in World Facts