1. World Map/
  2. Africa/
  3. Rwanda/
  4. Where is Rwanda

Where is Rwanda?

map showing the location of Rwanda

Located in the continent of Africa, Rwanda covers 24,668 square kilometers of land and 1,670 square kilometers of water, making it the 150th largest nation in the world with a total area of 26,338 square kilometers.

Rwanda became an independent state in 1962, after gaining its sovereignty from Belgium. The population of Rwanda is 11,689,696 (2012) and the nation has a density of 474 people per square kilometer.

The currency of Rwanda is the Rwanda Franc (RWF). As well, the people of Rwanda are refered to as Rwandan.

The dialing code for the country is 250 and the top level internet domain for Rwandan sites is .rw.

Rwanda shares land borders with 4 countries: Tanzania, Burundi, Uganda, Democratic Republic Of The Congo.

To learn more, visit our detailed Rwanda section.

Quick facts

Population 11,689,696
Density 473.9 / km2 ( 1,227.3 / mi2 )
Languages English, French, Kinyarwanda
Independence Year 1962
Capital Kigali (Kigali)
Currency Rwanda Franc
GDP 7,890,190,337 (2014 data)
GDP per Capita 675 (2014 data)
Land Area 24,668 km2 (9,524 mi2)
Water Area 1,670 km2 (645 mi2)
Neighbouring Countries Burundi, Uganda, Tanzania, The Democratic Republic Of The Congo
Minimum Longitude 28.860
Maximum Longitude 30.900
Mininum Latitude -2.840
Maximum Latitude -1.050

What is the capital of Rwanda?

map showing the location of Rwanda
Location of Kigali on a map.

Kigali is the capital city of Rwanda. It has a population of 745,261, and is located on a latitue of -1.95 and longitude of 30.06.

Kigali is also the political center of Rwanda, which is considered a Republic, and home to its Executive head of state.

Quick Facts About Kigali, the Capital Of Rwanda

City Kigali
Country Rwanda
Population 745,261
Longitude 30.05885000
Latitude -1.94995000
Elevation 1542 meters over sea level

Most popular cities in Rwanda

Rank City Population

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on October 2, 2015.