Indiana Territory Map 1800 and Information Page

Indiana Territory

Indiana Territory was an organized territory of the United States from 1800 to 1816, created by Act of Congress and signed into law by then President John Adams on May 7, 1800.

It was the first new territory created from lands of the Northwest Territory, which had been organized in 1787 by the Northwest Ordinance, out of which the State of Ohio was finally formed in 1803.

This new territory officially enforced America's desire and legal rights to settle this land, and to eventually divide it into individual states within the United States.

The vast territory included land to the north of the Ohio River, and east of the Mississippi River. It encompassed what would eventually become the states of Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin, as well as the eastern region of Minnesota.

The French Territory of Louisiana, once a part of Spain's empire in the Americas, was purchased from France by the United States on April 30, 1803, for $15 million. That sale, authorized by Napoleon and commonly referred to as the Louisiana Purchase, literally doubled the size of the United States overnight. Reportedly, U.S. President Thomas Jefferson was jubilant.

Latest by WorldAtlas