1. World Map/
  2. Europe /
  3. France /
  4. France Regions /

Map of the auvergne region of france including clermont-ferrand, aurillac, moulins and le puy-en-valey information page



Click for Forecast
Auvergne, positioned in the south-central France, is at the heart of the Massif Central, a large, somewhat arid upland area of rolling hills and low mountains.

The region contains many inactive volcanoes, as the last confirmed eruption was around 6,000 years ago. Most have eroded away leaving strings of hardened magma that formed rounded hilltops.

Clermont-Ferrand, the capital city, is one of the oldest cities in all of France. The Cathedral of Notre Dame de I'Assomption, located in its city center, is one of the most popular attractions in the country.

auvergne region
print this map

The walled city of Biroude, Auvergne, France AllPosters.com

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas