1. World Map/
  2. Europe/
  3. Austria/
  4. Austria Timeline

Austria History Timeline

Austria's Information

Flag of Austria
Land Area 82,445 km2
Water Area 1,426 km2
Total Area 83,871km2 (#112)
Population 8,711,770 (#94)
Population Density 105.67/km2
Government Type Federal Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $417.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $47,900
Currency Euro (EUR)
More Information Austria
Largest Cities
  • (16 BC) Almost all of present-day Austria was under Roman control, and called the Noricum Territory
800s - 1400s
  • (803) Charlemagne developed the Ostmark, or (East Mark) territory along the Danube
  • (955) That land became part of the Holy Roman Empire, after defeat of the Magyars
  • (1156) Reestablished as Ostmart by the Roman Emperor, Otto the Great
  • (1278) German King, Rudolf I of Habsburg, gained control, and the Habsburg dynasty ruled until 1918, and the conclusion of World War I
  • (1438) Duke Albert V, chosen as successor to his father-in-law, Emperor Sigismund, a Holy Roman Emperor
  • (1477-1519) Through marriage, the Emperor Maximilian took control of the low countries
1500s - 1800s
  • (1519) Spain's King Charles, eventually known as the Holy Roman Emperor Charles V, came to power
  • (1556) Ferdinand I, brother of King Charles and living in Vienna, was declared ruler of Austria, Hungary and other surrounding lands, thus extending the Habsburg control and territories. King Charles' son, Phillip II, was given the remaining Spanish holdings
  • (1618 - 1648) The Thirty Years' War destroyed much of central Europe
  • (1657-1705) Leopold I, Holy Roman Emperor, ruled the area for 48 years
  • (1683) Turk forces attacked Vienna, resulting in Hungary eventually being returned to Austrian control
  • (1711-1740) The reign of Emperor Charles V
  • (1740) The reign of Maria Teresa, the daughter of Charles V began, she ruled for 40 years
  • (1805) At Austerlitz, Napoleon defeated the Austrian forces
  • (1814-15) The Congress of Vienna successfully ended most central European conflicts
  • (1848) Revolution was in the air, and localized conflicts occur throughout the Habsburg Empire
  • (1866) Austria was defeated during the Austro-Prussian War, which forced a 1867 coalition between Austria and Hungary, and the new leadership of Emperor Franz Josef
  • (1914) The assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand and his wife, nephew of Franz Josef and heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, was the catalyst for a series of events that led to World War I
  • (1918) The Habsburgs were defeated during the war, and Austria was declared a republic
  • (1919) Treaty of St. Germain defined Austria's new boundaries
1900s continued
  • (1934) Socialist uprising crushed by government with backing of the army and the Home Defense Force
  • (1934) All politicial parties, except for Fatherland Front, were abolished
  • (1934) Parliament was dismissed by Chancellor Dollfuss
  • (1934) Imprisonment of Nazi conspirators led to attempted Nazi coup
  • (1934) Chancellor Dollfuss was assassinated, succeeded by Kurt von Schuschnigg
  • (1939-1945) World War II raged across Europe; Adolf Hitler annexed all of Austria into the German Third Reich
  • (1945-1955) Soviet troops liberated Vienna, and other Allied forces began their occupation of the country
  • (1945) Karl Renner elected president, Leopold Figl became chancellor
  • (1946 - 1947) Reconstruction began after denazification laws passed
  • (1955) The Austrian State Treaty proclaimed Austria to be an independent republic
  • (1964) Olympic Games held in Austria
  • (1964) Chancellor Bruno Kreisky formed government, dominated political scene for more than a decade
  • (1986) Kurt Waldheim elected President of Austria, Franz Vranitzky became chancellor
  • (1992) Thomas Klestil replaced Kurt Waldheim as President of Austria
  • (1994) Austria joined the European Union
  • (1998) Thomas Klestil re-elected as president

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Europe