1. World Map /
  2. Asia/
  3. Philippines/
  4. Philippines Timeline

Philippines History Timeline

Philippines's Information

Flag of Philippines
Land Area 298,170 km2
Water Area 1,830 km2
Total Area 300,000km2 (#72)
Population 102,624,209 (#12)
Population Density 344.18/km2
Government Type Presidential Republic
GDP (PPP) $807.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $7,700
Currency Peso (PHP)
More Information Philippines Map
Largest Cities
900 - 1400
  • (900) Indian Kingdom of Tondo established around Bay of Manila
  • (1000) Trade routes established in Sulu by people from Southern Annam (present day Vietnam)
  • (1200 - 1300) Migrants from Borneo spread into southern Philippines
  • (1240) Arab Tuan Masha'ika introduced Islam to Sulu
  • (1380) Muslim Arabs arrived at Sulu Archipelago, built a mosque in Jolo
  • (1450) Muslim Sultanate of Jolo established on islands between Borneo and Mindanao
  • (1475) Muslim sultanate of Maguindanao founded on Mindanao; Islam spread throughout the archipelago reaching as far as central Luzon.
  • (1521) Portuguese explorer, Ferdinand Magellan discovered Homonhon Island, named it "Arcigelago de San Lazaro"
  • (1521) Magellan reached the Philippines
  • (1521) Magellan reached Limasawa Island, met Rajah Kulambo, the ruler
  • (1521) Magellan and Kulambo entered into blood compact
  • (1521) First Philippine mass is held at Limasawa
  • (1521) Magellan sailed to Cebu Island, entered into blood compact with Chieftain Rajah Humabon
  • (1521) Magellan died in battle near Cebu
  • (1525 - 1536) Spain attempted sending three more expeditions to Philippines - all failed
  • (1543) Spanish expedition led by Ruy Lopez de Villalobos arrived; he named the islands the Philippines in honor of Philip II, son of King Charles I of Spain
  • (1565) Expedition led by Miguel Lopez de Legaspi arrived
  • (1565) Legaspi established first permanent Spanish settlement on Cebu, became first Spanish General-Governor
  • (1568) Portuguese attacked Cebu, blockaded port
  • (1571) Legaspi established Spanish Colonial Government in Manila; proclaimed it the capital of the colony
  • (1580) King Philip II of Spain became King of Portugal, ended Portuguese harassment of Philippines
  • (1580) Forced labor of all males aged 16 to 60 instituted by Spanish
  • (1583) Fire destroyed Manila
1600s - 1700s
  • (1600) Dutch attacked the Philippines during European war between Spain and the Netherlands.
  • (1603) In the Luzon Tragedy, over 30,000 Chinese merchants were killed, along with officials and civilians by Spanish chieftain
  • (1621 - 1683) Revolts and uprisings against religious customs and Spanish rule occurred throughout the Philippines
  • (1744) Dagohoy Revolt in Bohol lasted 85 years, provided independence from Spanish rule
  • (1754) Towns of Lipa, Sala, Tanauan, Talisay destroyed by eruption of Mt. Taal
  • (1762) During Europe's Seven Years War, British attacked and occupied Manila
  • (1762) British took control of Philippines; Darsonne Drake became Governor-General; colony opened to international trading
  • (1763) British occupation of Philippines ended when Treaty of Paris signed by England, Spain and France; Manila was returned to Spain


  • (1808) French Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte installed brother Joseph as King of Spain
  • (1809) Spanish colonies, including Philippines made part of Spain, Filipinos given privileges of Spanish citizenship and representation in Parliament
  • (1812) Cadiz Constitution established
  • (1813) Cadiz Constitution implemented in Manila
  • (1813) In Battle of the Nations, French were defeated, Napoleonic forces driven out of Spain
  • (1814) Ferdinand VII, son of King Charles IV, became King of Spain
  • (1816) Spanish Parliament rejected Cadiz Constitution, Philippine representation abolished
  • (1830) Port of Manila opened
  • (1863) Earthquake left Manila in ruins
  • (1869) Suez Canal opened, steamship service established between Philippines and Europe
  • (1872) 200 Filipino soldiers staged mutiny in Cavite for secularization and nationalism
  • (1872) Three priests executed as alleged leaders of Cavite Conspiracy
  • (1890s) Insurrection against Spanish rule began
  • (1898) U.S. Navy destroyed Spanish fleet in Manila Bay during Spanish-American War
  • (1898) Spain and U.S. signed Treaty of Paris, Spain ceded Philippines to U.S. for payment of 20 million dollars
  • (1899) Hostilities flared between Filipino and U.S. forces
  • (1901) Filipino insurgent leader, Emilio Aguinaldo was captured
  • (1901) William H. Taft became first U.S. governor of Philippines
  • (1901) 48 members of U.S. 9th Infantry killed by townspeople and guerrillas in the Balangiga Massacre
  • (1902) Civil government established by U.S. to replace military rule
  • (1902) Governor Taft improved economic conditions, established "pensionado" program for students, modernized and westernized the country
  • (1907) First congressional election took place, Philippine assembly was inaugurated
  • (1911) 1,334 people were killed when Mt. Taal erupted
  • (1916) Jones Law enacted, promised independence when stable government was established
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia