1. World Map /
  2. Asia/
  3. Middle East/
  4. Iraq/
  5. Iraq Timeline

Iraq History Timeline

Iraq's Information

Flag of Iraq
Land Area 437,367 km2
Water Area 950 km2
Total Area 438,317km2 (#58)
Population 38,146,025 (#36)
Population Density 87.22/km2
Government Type Federal Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $597.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $16,500
Currency Dinar (IQD)
Largest Cities

See Also

  • (3500BC) World's first civilization, Mesopotamia, was developed in southeastern Iraq
  • (539BC) Persians conquered Mesopotamia
  • (332BC) Alexander the Great conquered the Persians
200s - 1800s
  • (226AD) Persian Sassanid dynasty gained control of Mesopotamia
  • (633AD) Arab Muslims conquered Sassanid and Iraq
  • (750) Islamic world conquered by the Abbasids; Baghdad founded as capital
  • (1258) Mongol invaders, led by grandson of Ghengis Khan, captured Mesopotamia and Baghdad, Arab Empire was destroyed
  • (1534 - 1918) Region was ruled by Ottoman Empire
  • (1800's) Great Britain became involved with Mesopotamia in protecting trade routes with India and the East
  • (1914-1918) World War I occurred
  • (1917) British troops occupied Baghdad, seized control of the country
  • (1920) Mesopotamia renamed Iraq
  • (1921) British named Faisal, the Sharif of Mecca, as Iraq's first king
  • (1932) Iraq became independent state
  • (1939-1945) World War II took place
  • (1940 - 1941) Iraq formed allies with Germany, Italy and Japan, sought to rid Iraq of British power
  • (1941) British defeated Iraq
  • (1945) World War II ended; Iraq helped form Arab League
  • (1948) Arab League declared war against the newly formed Israel
  • (1950-1952) Iraq signed agreements with foreign oil companies; received 50% of the oil profits
  • (1953) Faisal II became king of Iraq
  • (1955) Iraq signed Baghdad Pact with Turkey, Pakistan, Iran
  • (1958) During military coup, Iraq became a republic, monarchy was killed
  • (1961) Iraq claimed jurisdiction over Kuwait
  • (1972) Iraq nationalized Iraq Petroleum Company
  • (1975) Border disputes between Iraq, Iran ended with signing of treaty
  • (1979) Saddam Hussein succeeded Al-Bakr as Iraqi president
  • (1980-1988) Iran-Iraq war
  • (1981) Israel attacked Iraqi nuclear research center near Baghdad
  • (1988) Iraq attacked Kurdish town of Halabjah, killed thousands with poison gas
  • (1990) Iraq invaded Kuwait
  • (1991) United Nations Security Council imposed sanctions on Iraq, included weapons inspections, no-fly zones
  • (1990) Iraq announced merger of Kuwait and Iraq
  • (1991) Coalition of 39 countries began bombing Iraq beginning Persian Gulf War
  • (1992) No-fly zone set up in southern Iraq
  • (1993) U.S. launched cruise missile attack on Iraqi intelligence headquarters in Baghdad
  • (1995) Saddam Hussein won referendum which allowed him to remain president for seven more years
  • (1996) Iraq's forces launched offensive into northern no-fly zone, captured Irbil
  • (1996) U.S. extended northern no-fly zone to south of Baghdad
  • (1998) Iraq ended cooperation with United Nations Special Commission to oversee destruction of weapons of mass destruction
  • (1998) U.S. and UK launched a bombing campaign to destroy Iraq's nuclear, chemical and biological weapons programs in Operation Desert Fox
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Iraq Trivia

What is the Largest Ethnic Group in Iraq?

Arabs comprise the majority of Iraq's demography, while Kurds are the largest minority.

Largest Ethnic Groups In Iraq

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia