1. Home
  2. North America
  3. United States
  4. Delaware

Maps of Delaware

Physical Map of Delaware. It shows the physical features of Delaware including its mountain ranges, coastal plains, major rivers and lakes.

Delaware is the second smallest state in the United States and it is in the Mid-Atlantic region of the US. Maryland borders Delaware to the north, Pennsylvania to the west and south, and New Jersey to the east.

The total area of Delaware is 1,982 square miles—just a little larger than Rhode Island (which is only 1,214 square miles). The ratio of size-to-population makes Delaware one of the most densely populated states in America, with 989 thousand residents, as well as one of America's smallest states.

The highest point in Delaware is Ebright Azimuth, at 448 feet above sea level. Conversely, one can find the lowest point in Delaware at sea level, which meets with the Atlantic Ocean on its eastern coast. Between these two extremes lies an elevation gradient that accounts for some of Delaware's beautiful terrain features, like rolling hills and broad valleys.

The major river flowing through Delaware is the Delaware River which forms part of its northeastern border with New Jersey before emptying into the Atlantic Ocean near Wilmington. Other notable rivers within the state include St Jones River, Murderkill River, Nanticoke River, Mispillion River, and Pocomoke River. All five of these rivers are important tributaries to the larger watersheds found throughout the central and eastern regions of the state.

Delaware's natural landscapes include two distinct regions. The Coastal Plain Region lies along its eastern shoreline (which includes parts of Maryland) and extends from just south of Rehoboth Beach up to Cape Henlopen State Park near Lewes. This region features flat coastal plains interspersed with marshes and wetlands along tidal creeks parallel to the Atlantic Ocean's coastline. Further inland lies the Delmarva Peninsula which encompasses most of the state (including parts of Maryland/Virginia), featuring popular beaches alongside small forests scattered across upland plateaus.

Counties Map

The State of Delaware is divided into 3 counties. In alphabetical order, these counties are: Kent, New Castle, Sussex.

With an area of 5,060 sq. km, the State of Delaware is the 2nd smallest state amongst all the 50 states of the USA. Located in Kent County, along the St. Jones River, in the east-central part of the state is Dover – the capital city of Delaware. Situated in the New Castle County, along the confluence of the Christina River and the Delaware River is Wilmington – the largest and the most populous city in Delaware. It also serves as the chief port and the industrial, financial, and commercial center of Delaware.

Where is Delaware?

Map showing location of Delaware in the world.

The State of Delaware is located in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States. Delaware is bordered by the state of Maryland in the west and south; by Pennsylvania in the north, and by New Jersey in the east. It is also bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, Delaware Bay, and Delaware River in the southeast.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Delaware

The above blank map represents the State of Delaware, located in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities. 

The above outline map represents the State of Delaware, located in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States.

Key Facts

Legal Name State of Delaware
ISO 3166 Code US-DE
Capital City Dover

This page was last updated on February 16, 2023

Latest by WorldAtlas