Presidents Of The Government Of Morocco

Abdelilah Benkirane, the incumbent Moroccan Head of Government.
Abdelilah Benkirane, the incumbent Moroccan Head of Government.

The position of the presidency in Morocco was established in 1955. A total of fifteen presidents have served in the government of Morocco. However, there have been two periods of direct rule by the king of Morocco. Also, President Mohammed Karim Lamrani served on three non-consecutive occasions. The president is the head of the government of Morocco in an authoritarian regime. The President is appointed by the King of Morocco. The President recommends to the king, a list of ministers and other government officials for appointments. The president implements the programs of the government as approved by the parliament. He or she can also represent the country at international meetings and enhances the country’s international relation. Some of the presidents of the government of Morocco through history are looked at below.

Mbarek Bekkay

Mbarek Bekkay was born in 1907 in Berkane, Morocco. In 1955, he was commissioned by the then king, Mohammad V to form a government to negotiate for the independence of the country from the French authority. His resilient effort and commitment to the process of independence led to a joint declaration of independence of the Kingdom of Morocco on March 2, 1956. Mbarek Bekkay was a veteran politician and a statesman who is credited with shaping the history of the modern kingdom. On October 28, 1956, he was again commissioned by the king to form a post-independence government. He led the government until his resignation on April 16, 1958. In 1960, he was appointed Minister of State for Interior, a position he held until his death on April 12, 1961.

Ahmed Balafrej

Ahmed Balafrej was born in Rabat in 1908. He was a major figure in Morocco’s struggle for independence. Ahmed Balafrej is also the founder of the modern Diplomacy Moroccan and the architect of the Moroccan Nationalist Movement which led to the country’s independence. He was appointed the Prime Minister on May 12, 1958, after the resignation of Mbarek Bekkay. He was considered the second most powerful man in Morocco after King Hassan II. He wanted to keep Morocco neutral throughout his leadership. He was replaced as Prime Minister on December 2, 1958. He was then appointed Foreign Minister and a personal representative of the king. He died on April 14, 1990, at the age of 82 years.

Abdallah Ibrahim

Abdallah Ibrahim was born in 1918 in Marrakesh, Morocco, hailing from a middle-class family. He became a doctor of theology at the age of 27 years. He is a founding member of the Istiqlal Party through which Morocco gained her independence. He was appointed Labor and Social Affairs Minister by Mbarek Bekkay in 1956. He was appointed the Chairman of the Board of Government on December 24, 1958, a position he held until his removal on May 20, 1960. He died on September 11, 2005, at the age of 87 years.

Abdelilah Benkirane

Abdelilah Benkirane has been the head of the government of Morocco since 2011. He is the leader of the Justice and development party. In the November of 2011 parliamentary election, he won with a popular majority of seats, his party having formed a coalition with three parties that had been part of previous governments. He was thus appointed as president on November 29, 2011. His style of leadership is known for its democratic and Islamist nature.

Presidents Of The Government Of Morocco

Presidents of the Government of MoroccoTerm(s) in Office
Mbarek Bekkay
Ahmed Balafrej
Abdallah Ibrahim
Ahmed Bahnini
Mohamed Benhima
Ahmed Laraki
Mohammed Karim Lamrani
1971-1972; 1983-1986; 1992-1994
Ahmed Osman
Maati Bouabid
Azzeddine Laraki
Abdellatif Filali
Abderrahmane Youssoufi
Driss Jettou
Abbas El Fassi
Abdelilah Benkirane (Incumbent)

More in Society