Which Four Presidents Are On Mount Rushmore?

Mount Rushmore in the Mount Rushmore National Memorial in South Dakota.
Mount Rushmore in the Mount Rushmore National Memorial in South Dakota.

The Mount Rushmore National Memorial occupies the southeastern face of Mount Rushmore in South Dakota. The memorial consist of sculptures depicting the faces of four American presidents. Each head is about 60 feet.

The History of Mount Rushmore

Sculptor Gutzon Borglum led 400 workers in curving the sculptures from 1927 to 1941. Although Borglum designed the sculptures, the idea of carving the portraits of famous people on the hill was conceived by Doane Robinson. The southeast face of Mount Rushmore was chosen as the site because it receives maximum sun exposure. Robinson suggested that the sculptures should feature the heroes of American West such as Lewis and Clark, Buffalo Bill Cody, and Red Cloud but Borglum decided that the monument would have more appeal if it represented the portraits of presidents. The initial design was meant to portray the four presidents from the waistline to the head, but lack of funding terminated the project after the completion of the heads. Gutzon Borglum Died in March 1941 before the scriptures could be unveiled. His son took over the project until its completion.

Featured Presidents

Four American presidents are represented on the memorial: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln. Borglum chose the four because he thought they led the country during important times and made decisions that shaped the future of the country.

George Washington

George Washington was the first president of the United States. He was born in 1732 and died in 1799. Washington served as the president between 1789 and 1797. He led the colonies against Great Britain during the American Revolutionary War. Washington is recognized as the "Father of the Nation" who laid the foundation of democracy in America.

Thomas Jefferson

Thomas Jefferson was the third president of the US. He was born in 1743 and died in 1826. Jefferson served as the president between March 4, 1801 and March 4, 1809. He is credited with drafting the Declaration of Independence; a symbol of American independence and a document that inspires democracy across the world. Jefferson also acquired Louisiana Territory from the French doubling the size country.

Theodore Roosevelt

Theodore Roosevelt was the 26th president of the United States. He was born in 1858 and died in 1919. Roosevelt served as the president from September 14, 1901 to March 4, 1909. He led the rapid growth of the economy in the country at the beginning of the 20th century. He also negotiated the construction of the Panama Canal that links the west to the east. Roosevelt is remembered for fighting against corporate monopoly and ensuring that the common American received his right accordingly. He represents the development of the country.

Abraham Lincoln

Abraham Lincoln was the 16th president of the United States. He was born in 1809 and died in 1865 while in office. He served as president between March 4, 1861 and April 15, 1865. He led the country during the civil war and ensured that America did not break up on the basis of slavery. Lincoln's firm conviction led to the abolition of slavery.


More in World Facts