Where Is Mount Rushmore?

Mount Rushmore National Memorial is located in Black Hill, South Dakota.

Where Is Mount Rushmore?

Mount Rushmore is located in the Black Hills region of Keystone, South Dakota, United States. It is 23 miles from the nearest city, which is called Rapid City. The Black Hills have the oldest and hardest stone in the world. Mount Rushmore is famous because of the four American presidents carved into the rocks. The four United States presidents are Abraham Lincoln, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, and Theodore Roosevelt.

Benefits of Mount Rushmore to South Dakota State?

Mount Rushmore is a National Memorial in the US, which outlines the historical and cultural heritage of Americans. It is a tourist destination, attracting more than three million visitors every year. Mount Rushmore is responsible for economic growth of South Dakota State. It has boosted the tourism industry earnings of not only the state, but the US as a whole. Furthermore, Mount Rushmore is known as an icon of the United States. The sculpture was carved by artist Gutzon Borglum, and it became his legacy.

Who “Made” Mount Rushmore?

Doane Robinson is credited with the idea of carving the presidents into Mount Rushmore. His intention was to create a tourism destination site that would showcase America’s history. Furthermore, he wanted to attract both local and foreign tourists to his state of South Dakota. Robinson also worked diligently to source funding to carve the mountain. Ultimately, Mount Rushmore cost $989,992.32 at the time, which is approximately $17 million today. Hence, Doane Robinson is popularly known as the “Father of Mount Rushmore.” Other people who assisted in the campaign for funds for the mountain include John Boland and congressman William Williamson.

The second individual who made the vision of having Mount Rushmore a reality was Gutzon Borglum. He had left a Stone Mountain project in Georgia due to unnecessary tensions between him and the officials of the organization he worked for. He engineered the construction of the mountain, which began in 1927 and ended in 1941. Borglum was closely assisted by his son, Lincoln Borglum. Lincoln Borglum eventually took over the project when Gutzon died. He was responsible for the finishing touches on the carvings.

Why Single out the Four Presidents?

The four American presidents carved into Mount Rushmore uniquely contributed to the birth, growth, development, and preservation of the United States. George Washington symbolizes the birth of America. He led the people during the American Revolutionary War, which led to the independence of America from the Great Britain. Abraham Lincoln, on the other hand, symbolizes preservation of the American people. He unified Americans during the Civil War, which was the greatest trial that had ever faced the nation. The third president, Theodore Roosevelt, symbolized the development of the United States. He was responsible for the development of the Panama Canal. The canal linked America to the rest of the world leading to its rapid economic growth. Finally, Thomas Jefferson symbolized the growth of America. He is famous for drafting the Declaration of Independence. He also purchased Louisiana, which expanded the size of America by an additional 15 states.


More in Travel