World Facts

Which Team Has Won the Most Super Bowls?

With 6 wins, the Pittsburgh Steelers have won more Super Bowl games than any other team.

The Super Bowl arguably one of the largest sporting events of the year in the US. "Super Bowl Sunday" has become an unofficial national holiday, not only being one of the most-watched sporting events in the US but also the second-largest day in the US for food consumption. Super Bowl Sunday is held the first Sunday of February every year. Since the first Super Bowl in 1967, the Super Bowl has been held as the championship game between the two champion teams of the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC). The Super Bowl is held in various cities across the United States, with Miami having hosted the most Super Bowls (10).

​Teams That Have Won the Most Super Bowls

Pittsburgh Steelers

The Pittsburgh Steelers, a highly trained team based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, has won the highest number of Super Bowl titles. The Steelers have made it to the Super Bowl 8 times, and won the championship 6 times, in 1974 (IX), 1975 (X), 1978 (XIII), 1979 (XIV), 2005 (XL), and 2008 (XLIII). The team, under Coach Mike Tomlin, trains at Heinz Field.

New England Patriots

The New England Patriots, based in Boston, have won in 2002 (XXXVI), 2004 (XXXVIII), 2005 (XXXIX), 2015 (XLIX), and 2017 (LI). Competing in the National Football Conference, east division, the club is owned by Robert Kraft and coached by Bill Belichick. Training takes place at the Gillette Stadium. The Patriots have made it to the Super Bowl 10 times, more than any other team.

Dallas Cowboys

The Dallas Cowboys club which is based in Dallas trains in the AT&T Stadium under Coach Jason Garrett. Successful wins where in 1972 (VI), 1978 (XII), 1993 (XXVII), 1994 (XXVIII), and 1996 (XXX). The team competes in the NFC East division.

San Francisco 49ers

San Francisco 49ers were founded in 1946 and joined the NFL in 1949. The team has won the Super Bowl championship five times, in 1982 (XVI), 1985 (XIX), 1989 (XXIII), 1990 (XXIV), and 1995 (XXIX). The team is based in Santa Clara, California, and trains in Levi Arena under Head Coach Kyle Shanahan.

Future Championships

The 53rd championship, Super Bowl LIII, will be held on February 3, 2019, in the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia. Although this is the first Super Bowl to he held at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium, this will be the third time the Super Bowl has been held in Atlanta, having hosted previous championships in 1994 and 2000 at the Georgia Dome. The event will be televised by hundreds of stations and is expected to be watched by millions of fan globally.

Super Bowl LIV will be held on February 2, 2020 in at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida.

Super Bowl LV will be held on February 7, 2021 at the Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida.

Super Bowl LVI will be held on February 6, 2022 at the Los Angeles Stadium at Hollywood Park in Inglewood, California.

Super Bowl LVII will be held on February 5, 2023 at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

And Super Bowl LVIII will be held on February 4, 2024 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Which Team Has Won the Most Super Bowls?

1Pittsburgh Steelers68
2New England Patriots510
3Dallas Cowboys58
4San Francisco 49ers56
5Green Bay Packers45
6New York Giants45
7Denver Broncos38
8Los Angeles / Oakland Raiders35
9Washington Redskins35
10Miami Dolphins25
11Baltimore / Indianapolis Colts24
12Baltimore Ravens22
13St. Louis / Los Angeles Rams13
14Seattle Seahawks13
15Philadelphia Eagles13
16Kansas City Chiefs12
17Chicago Bears12
18New York Jets11
19Tampa Bay Buccaneers11
20New Orleans Saints11

More in World Facts