Which European Countries Are Islands?

Iceland is an island country in Europe.
Iceland is an island country in Europe.

Europe has five island countries. These nations occupy either an entire island or encompass a group of islands or are part of larger islands. Three of these countries are located in Northern Eurrope (Ireland, United Kingdom and Iceland) in the North Atlantic Ocean, and two in Southern Europe (Cyprus and Malta) in the Mediterranean Sea. Cyprus is considered to be a transcontinental country included in both Europe and Asia. 

The 5 Island Countries Of Europe

  1. Cyprus
  2. Iceland
  3. Republic of Ireland
  4. Malta
  5. United Kingdom


Nissi beach in Ayia Napa, a famous tourist beach in Cyprus.

Cyprus is one of the five island nations of Europe. It is the most populous island in the Mediterranean Sea. Nicosia is the capital and the biggest city of this island country. The total area occupied by Cyprus is 9,251 km2. It has an estimated population of 1,198,580 people and a high population density of 128.71 persons per km2. Cyprus has a rich history due to its strategic location at the crossroads of ancient trade routes. The country has a diverse and prosperous economy with a GDP per capita of $23,352.


Beautiful Red Church on a Mountain Top at Vik, Iceland.

A large island in the North Atlantic Ocean, Iceland is Europe’s most sparsely populated nation. The country covers an area of 103,000 km2. The estimated population is 361,310 people and the population density is only 3.5 persons per km2. Reykjavík is Iceland’s capital city. Iceland is well-known for its natural beauty and is geologically active. Iceland also hosts active volcanoes. Iceland is currently one of the most well-developed economies of the world. It has a GDP per capita of $83,750. Fishing is a major economic activity in this country.

Republic Of Ireland

Cathedral and colored houses in Cobh, Ireland.

The Republic of Ireland, located on the island of Ireland, includes 26 of the 32 counties of the island within its boundaries. The country spans a total area of 70,273 km2 and hosts a population of 4,941,440. Dublin serves as the capital of this nation. Ireland shares its boundaries with Northern Ireland which is part of the UK. On all other sides, the country is surrounded by waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Ireland has a strong knowledge economy. The country has technologically advanced industrial and service sectors.


Traditional boats in the Harbor of Mediterranean fishing village Marsaxlokk, Malta.

Located in the Mediterranean Sea, Malta is a small archipelago with three inhabited and several uninhabited islands. It is a sovereign nation with an estimated population of 502,650 living in an area of 316 km2. Malta is one of the smallest but also one of the most densely populated nations of the world. The population density of this country is 1514.47 persons per km2. Malta’s capital city of Valletta is the smallest national capital in the entire continent. Located just south of Sicily, Malta has witnessed invasions by major world powers for centuries in the past. The strategic location of the archipelago has always attracted settlers and invaders to the area. The economy of this island nation is quite advanced with the GDP per capita being $30,500.

United Kingdom

Staithes Sunrise, Yorkshire, UK.

The United Kingdom is also an island country comprising of the Great Britain island, part of the island of Ireland, and some other smaller islands located off the European mainland’s north-western coast. With the exception of the land border that is shared between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland, the UK is surrounded on all other sides by the waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The UK has the world’s 12th longest coastline. The country has an area of 243,610 km2 and a population of 66,834,400. London is the capital city of this country.

Island Countries Of Europe

Island CountryTotal Area in km2Total PopulationPop. Density (people per km2 of land area)
Republic of Ireland70,2734,941,44070.65
United Kingdom243,61066,834,400274.71

More in World Geography