What Is The Capital Of Luxembourg?

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg.

Luxembourg is a small western European country encompassing an area of 2,586.4 square km. Germany and France border the country to the east and south, respectively. Belgium borders the landlocked nation to the north and west. The country has an estimated population of around 6 million. Luxembourg City is the capital of Luxembourg. 

What Type Of Government Does Luxembourg Have?

Luxembourg is a parliamentary representative democratic monarchy. Here, the Prime Minister of Luxembourg is the head of the government. The executive power is vested in the Council of Government (comprising of the Prime Minister and the other ministers) and the Grand Duke. The Chamber of Deputies constitutes the legislative wing of the government. The judiciary is separate and works independently of the other two branches of the government.

What Is The Capital Of Luxembourg?

Luxembourg City serves as the capital of Luxembourg. It is also the most populous commune of the country. The city has an area of 51.46 square km and a population of around 107,247 individuals. The population density of Luxembourg City is 2,100 persons per square km. The elevation of the city varies from 750 feet to 1,319 feet.

Where Is Luxembourg City Located?

The city is located at the confluence of the Pétrusse and the Alzette rivers on the Luxembourg plateau’s southern part in southern Luxembourg. Brussels and Paris are located at a distance of about 213 km and 372 km from the city, respectively. Luxembourg City has a complex layout as it is set on different levels. Its landscape features hills, gorges, parks, forested areas, and rivers. A mild oceanic climate prevails in the region.

History Of Luxembourg City

The Luxembourg City was the site of a fortified tower during the Roman era. The tower was built to protect two Roman roads of significance meeting at the site of the present-day city. Given the strategic importance of the area, many powers tried to capture and control the site. Thus, several fortifications were built in the area over a period of centuries. When the Grand Duke died in 1890, he had no male heir to replace him. Thus, the Grand Duchy in Luxembourg went out of Dutch control. Now, the title was bestowed to an independent line under Grand Duke Adolphe. Till now, Luxembourg was independent only theoretically, but now it earned its true sovereignty. Luxembourg city now became the capital of this state. During the First World War, the German-occupied the city for a period of about four years from 1914 to 1918. In 1921, the limits of the city were expanded by the addition of four more communes. The city now became the country’s largest commune. Between 1940 and 1944, Luxembourg City was once more under German occupation. During this time, many places in the city were renamed. After the Germans left, the city served as the capital of the sovereign state of Luxembourg.

Role Of Luxembourg City As The Capital Of Luxembourg

As the seat of the Luxembourg Government, Luxembourg City is home to the Berg Castle, the residence of the Grand Ducal Family. The Chamber of Deputies meets at the Hôtel de la Chambre in the city. The Hôtel de Bourgogne in the city serves as the office of the Prime Minister of the country. Luxembourg City is also the seat of several institutions and bodies of the EU. It is one of the de facto capitals of the EU.


More in World Facts