What Continent Is China In?

China (orange) is the fourth largest country in the world according to the total area and borders 14 countries in Asia.
China (orange) is the fourth largest country in the world according to the total area and borders 14 countries in Asia.

China is one of the potential superpower countries in the world today. A recognized nuclear power, China has a permanent seat in the United Nations Security Council and commands considerable diplomatic power in the world and in South East Asia where it is situated. Since China was declared a people’s republic in 1949 after the victory of the communist forces in the civil war, the country has grown to become an economic power in the region and the whole world. China is among the few countries in the world to endorse communist ideologies.

Political Geography of China

China is the fourth largest country in the world according to the total area with 9,600,000,000 kilometers square. The land borders of China cover a total of 22,173 kilometers and span an area starting from the banks of the Yalu River to the Gulf of Tonkin. China borders 14 countries in Asia and it shows how huge China is. China borders Vietnam, Laos, and Burma in the South East and India, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Nepal, and Pakistan In the South. In the East, China shares maritime borders with Philippines, South Korea, and Japan. To the North, China borders Russia, Mongolia, and North Korea and in the Central Asia China shares a border with Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, and Kyrgyzstan. The population of China is 1.4 billion people making the country the most populous country in the world.


China is a defacto one party state with the Communist Party of China being the ruling party. The Chinese communist party has been criticized for its repressive policies on the freedoms of the Chines people including the right to give birth, freedom of expression, and the restrictions on the internet. The CPC has a pyramid-like structure of leadership where the top is indirectly elected and at the bottom, the leadership is directly elected by the people. The President is the commander of the People’s Liberation Forces and the head of state, a position largely ceremonial, while the Premier is the head of Government. The country has 22 provinces, 5 autonomous regions and four municipalities that are under direct control of the Chinese Government. There are special administrative regions like Hong Kong and Macau.

Relations With Neighbors

China has diplomatic relations with 175 countries around the world and operates embassies in 162 countries. The Chinese, however, have been involved in maritime disputes with countries like the Philippines, Vietnam, and Japan over the borders. China still contests the sovereignty of Taiwan as it considers it a rebel province. The Chinese military has not been used in active combat since the border war with Vietnam back in the late 1970s, but its expansion and modernization has been a source of concern for its neighbors. China is a member of Asian trade organizations and trades with its Asian neighbors as well as other countries in the world, notably in Africa. The Chinese prefer a peaceful coexistence with neighbors irrespective of their ideology. Countries like Iran, Zimbabwe, and North Korea are examples.


More in World Facts