World Facts

The Smallest Countries in South America

Suriname is the smallest South American country by land area.

South America occupies a total geographical area of 6,886,229.3 square miles, and it is home to 12 independent states.

The Smallest Countries In South America

1. Suriname - 163,820 sq km

Suriname’s territory covers an area of 63,252 square miles to become the smallest state in South America. It has a coastline along the Atlantic and shares land borders with Guyana, French Guiana, and Brazil. A former Dutch colony, Suriname has been an independent country since 1975.

2. Uruguay - 181,034 sq km

Uruguay is South America’s smallest nation with an area of 69,898 square miles. It borders Brazil and Argentina as well as the Atlantic Ocean to its southeast and the Rio de la Plata to its south.

3. Guyana - 214,969 sq km

Although Guyana is located in mainland South America, it is also recognized as being part of the Caribbean region. The country has an area of 83,000 square miles and a population of 735,909.

4. Ecuador - 276,841 sq km

Ecuador is South America’s fourth smallest country. Aside from its Pacific Coast, it also borders Peru and Colombia.

5. Paraguay - 406,750 sq km

Paraguay is the fifth smallest country in South America. It is a landlocked country, but it is not among the world's largest landlocked countries. Paraguay borders Bolivia, Brazil, and Argentina.

What is the Largest Country in South America?

Brazil is the largest country in South America. In fact, occupying half of the continent's landmass, Brazil is the fifth largest country in the world with a land area of 3,287,956 square miles.

South American Countries Ranked Smallest to Largest

RankCountryArea (km²)


Your MLA Citation

Your APA Citation

Your Chicago Citation

Your Harvard Citation

Remember to italicize the title of this article in your Harvard citation.

More in World Facts