List of Prime Ministers of Russia

Dmitry Medvedev is the current sitting Prime Minister of Russia. Editorial credit: Anton Veselov /
Dmitry Medvedev is the current sitting Prime Minister of Russia. Editorial credit: Anton Veselov /

In the post-Soviet Russian Federation, the Prime Minister is second only to the President, and successor to the same. The Prime Minister is appointed by the sitting president. It is the second-highest position in the country, but the title is informal and never referred to in the Russian Constitution and Federal Laws. However, the title is acknowledged as the Chairman of the Government of the Russian Federation.

The role of the Prime Minister is in an administrative capacity. Dmitry Medvedev is the current sitting Prime Minister of Russia. The Prime Minister is appointed for a six-year period for one term, but the number of terms has no limit. Although he may be dismissed at the discretion of the President. During the monarchy in Russia, the Prime Minister was also appointed by the Emperor, but no term was set on his position. However, during the Soviet era, the position was a five-year on one term time limit and subject to dismissal by the General Secretary.

Prime Ministers of the Russian Federation

Boris Nikolayevich Yeltsin

Boris Nikolayevich Yeltsin (1931-2007) was the first Prime Minister of the Russian Federation (November 06, 1991-June 15, 1992). Yeltsin was born in Butka, Sverdlovsk, USSR. After his term, he became the President of the Russian Federation until 1999. He majored in construction at the Ural Polytechnic Institute. He became a full member of the Communist Party and received the Order of Lenin in 1981 and became the first secretary of the CPSU Committee of Sverdlovsk Oblast in 1985. Yeltsin demolished socialism and initiated the market economy of the Russian Federation.

Yegor Timurovich Gaidar

Yegor Timurovich Gaidar (1956-2009) was the second Prime Minister of the Russian Federation (June 15, 1992-December 14, 1992). Gaidar was born in Moscow, USSR. He was a writer and economist who graduated from Moscow State University. He was a member of the Communist Party and editor of the Communist Journal. He joined Yeltsin after the dissolution of the USSR and became an adviser. He was famous as the savior of the Russian economy but criticized for his ruthless economic reforms. As acting Prime Minister to Yeltsin, he was later replaced by Viktor Chernomyrdin.

Viktor Stepanovich Chernomyrdin

Viktor Stepanovich Chernomyrdin (1938-2010) was twice Prime Minister of the Russian Federation (third on December 14, 1992-March 23, 1998), (fifth on August 23, 1998-September11, 1998). He graduated from Samara State Technical University and Moscow State Open University. Later he became a member of the Communist Party and turned politician and the Chairman of the Gazprom Energy Company. He left a legacy of diplomacy and humorous sayings that have become part of the Russian lingo.

Sergey Vladilenovich Kiriyenko

Sergey Vladilenovich Kiriyenko (1962) was fourth Prime Minister of the Russian Federation (March 23, 1998-August 23, 1998). He was a politician and now head of Rosatom, state nuclear energy corporation. He was born in Sukhumi but spent his childhood in Sochi, southern USSR. He graduated from Nizhny Novgorod (Gorky) Water Transport Engineers Institute. He was known as one of the new reformists who failed to improve the country’s economy. He resigned after the 1998 Russian financial crisis.

Yevgeny Maximovich Primakov

Yevgeny Maximovich Primakov (1929-2015) was sixth Prime Minister of the Russian Federation (September 11, 1998-May 12, 1999). He served as Prime Minister, Foreign Minister, Chief of Intelligence Service, and Speaker of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. He was born in Kiev, Ukrainian SSR. He studied at the Moscow Institute of Oriental Studies and Moscow State University. He was also a journalist and correspondent for Pravda (1956-1970). He also held several directorships on science academies in the country. He left a legacy of diplomacy, multilateralism, and a successful tax reform which were all democratically received by the people.

Sergey Vadimovich Stepashin

Sergey Vadimovich Stepashin (1952) was the seventh Prime Minister of the Russian Federation (May 12, 1999-August 9, 1999). A politician and current Chairman of the Accounts Chamber of Russia. He was born in Lüshunkou, China. He studied at Higher Political School of the USSR Ministry of the Interior and Military and Political Academy. He is a Doctor of Law and State Advisor. He also served as justice minister and interior minister at one time. He received many honors and medals in his long career in the government.

Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin

Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin (1952) was twice the Prime Minister of the Russian Federation (eighth - August 9, 1999-May 8, 2000), (twelfth - May 8, 2008-May 7, 2012). He was born in Leningrad, USSR. He studied Business Law at Saint Petersburg State University. He speaks German and practices Judo. He was a member of the Communist Party until 1991. He later joined the KGB and was posted in Germany. He is best known for his first eight years as President when the Russian economy took off to new highs for eight straight years. He continues to garner high approval from his countrymen and the international community.

Prime Ministers Of Russia Since The Fall Of The Soviet Union

RankPrime Minister of the Russian FederationTerm(s) in Office or as Acting Prime Minister
1Boris Nikolayevich Yeltsin
6th of November 1991 to 15th of June 1992
2Yegor Timurovich Gaidar
15th of June 1992 to 14th of December 1992
3Viktor Stepanovich Chernomyrdin
14th of December 1992 to 23rd of March 1998; 23rd of August 1998 to 11th of September 1998
4Sergey Vladilenovich Kiriyenko
23rd of March 1998 to 23rd of August 1998
5Yevgeny Maximovich Primakov
11th of September 1998 to 12th of May 1999
6Sergey Vadimovich Stepashin
12th of May 1999 to 9th of August 1999
7Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin
9th of August 1999 to 7th of May 2000; 8th of May 2008 to 7th of May 2012
8Mikhail Mikhailovich Kasyanov
7th of May 2000 to 24th of February 2004
9Viktor Borisovich Khristenk
24th of February 2004 to 5th of March 2004
10Mikhail Yefimovich Fradkov
5th of March 2004 to 14th of September 2007
11Viktor Alexeyevich Zubkov
14th of September 2007 to 8th of May 2008; 7th of May 2012 to 8th of May 2012
12Dmitry Anatolyevich Medvedev
8th of May 2012 to Present

More in Politics