Prime Ministers Of Georgia Since The Collapse Of The Soviet Union

Since 1991, these Prime Ministers have served as the Heads of Government of Georgia.

Since 1991, these prime ministers have served as the Heads of Government of Georgia. In the 19th century, Georgia was under Russian Rule after which it was incorporated in the Soviet Union in 1922. The position was referred to as Chair of the Ministers’ Council in the Soviet Era. Democracy was instituted in an independent Georgia in 1991 after the fall of the Soviet Union. The country’s prime minister heads the government as chair of the cabinet of ministers. The prime Minister directs and monitors implementation of government’s policies.

Prime Ministers Of Georgia Since The Collapse Of The Soviet Union

Besarion Gugushvili (1991-1992)

Besarion Gugushvili was born in Tbilisi, Georgia on May 6, 1945. He served in President’s Zviad Gamsakhurdia’s government which was ousted in 1992 through a military coup. Gugushvili followed the deposed President to exile and was part of Gamsakhurdia’s attempt to regain power in 1993. He chaired the Department of Statistics in the Chechen Republic, headed by Dzhokhar Dudayev from 1992 to 1994. He also served as Dudayev’s economic adviser. He participated in the design of the Georgian script as used in the Nokia Pure interface as well as the DejaVu typeface.

Tengiz Sigua (1992-1993)

Tengiz Sigua was born in Lentekhi in the then Socialist Republic of Georgia on November 9, 1934. He studied engineering at the Georgian Technical University. His entry into politics was marked by the position of the Chair of the Ministers’ Council in 1990 under President Zviad Gamsakhurdia, and he resigned in 1991 following a dispute with Gamsakhurdia. He was at the forefront of the coup which ousted President Gamsakhurdia in 1992. He became Prime Minister of the interim government which assumed governance after the coup. He was subsequently confirmed as Prime Minister in 1992 by a freshly elected legislature.

Otar Patsatsia (1993-1995)

Otar Patsatsia was born in Zugdidi, Georgia on May 15, 1929. He was an Engineer-Economist, and he studied at the Leningrad Institute of Technology. As an Economist, he headed the Zugdidi Paper Factory for about 25 years. His political career began with his election as a deputy in 1990, representing the Zugdidi District. He was appointed the chair of the district’s administration in 1992 by Eduard Shevardnadze in an attempt to appease Zviad Gamsakhurdia’s loyalists concentrated in Zugdidi. Patsatsia succeeded Tengiz Sigua as Prime Minister in 1993. His tenure was marked by economic and political upheavals which threatened the country’s stability. He resigned in 1995 to take part in the parliamentary elections.

Niko Lekishvili (1995-1998)

Niko Lekishvili was born in Tbilisi, Georgia on April 20, 1947. He studied at the Georgian Polytechnic Institute, specializing in heat and energy engineering as well the Academy of National Economy in Moscow in 1988. His professional career started with an associate position at the Georgian Polytechnic Institute after which he held a series of positions in the Soviet Government as well as in the Communist Party. He was the Tbilisi Mayor between 1993 and 1995 after which he became Prime Minister in the government of Eduard Shevardnadze. The government was heavily criticized for its economic policies as well as the secessionist region of Abkhazia. He resigned from his position in 1998.

Other Prime ministers

The rest of the country’s Prime Ministers are Vazha Lortkipanidze (1998-2000); Giorgi Arsenishvili (2000-2001); Avtandil Jorbenadze (2001-2003); Zurab Zhvania (2003-2005); Zurab Noghaideli (2005-2007); Lado Gurgenidze (2007-2008). Grigol Mgaloblishvili (2008-2009); Nika Gilauri (2009-2012); Vano Merabishvili (July to October of 2012); Bidzina Ivanishvili (2012-2013); Irakli Garibashvili (2013-2015), and Giorgi Kvirikashvili (2015-Present).

Prime Ministers of Georgia Since 1991 Term in Office
Besarion Gugushvili 1991-1992
Tengiz Sigua 1992-1993
Otar Patsatsia 1993-1995
Niko Lekishvili 1995-1998
Vazha Lortkipanidze 1998-2000
Giorgi Arsenishvili 2000-2001
Avtandil Jorbenadze 2001-2003
Zurab Zhvania 2003-2005
Zurab Noghaideli 2005-2007
Lado Gurgenidze 2007-2008
Grigol Mgaloblishvili 2008-2009
Nika Gilauri 2009-2012
Vano Merabishvili July to October of 2012
Bidzina Ivanishvili 2012-2013
Irakli Garibashvili 2013-2015
Giorgi Kvirikashvili (Incumbent) 2015-Present

More in Politics