Prime Ministers Of Belarus Since 1990

Government buildings in Belarus. Editorial credit: Ovchinnikova Irina /
Government buildings in Belarus. Editorial credit: Ovchinnikova Irina /

The Eastern European country of Belarus was known as the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic, one of the republics of the former Soviet Union from 1920 until 1994. In July 1990, the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic adopted the Declaration of State Sovereignty. In August 1991, the country declared independence from the Soviet Union and renamed the country as the Republic of Belarus. In March 1994, Belarus adopted a new constitution, which officially ended the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic. Between the 1991 Declaration of Independence and the drafting of the Constitution in 1994, the Prime Minister served as the head of government but with the 1994 Constitution, most of the functions of the Prime Minister were given to the President of Belarus.

Prime Ministers Of Belarus

Sergei Sidorsky, The Longest Serving PM Of Belarus

Sergei Sidorsky was the longest-serving prime minister in the history of the Republic of Belarus, having served 2,728 days between July 2003 and December 2010. In 1976, Sidorsky graduated from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering at the Belarusian Institute of Railway Engineers. From graduation until 1992, he worked in various positions at the Homiel Radio Equipment Plant, eventually working his way up to the position of the director of the plant. From 1992 until 1998, he worked as the General Manager at the Research and Production Association (RATON). In 1998, he entered politics for the first time, becoming the Deputy Chairman and then First Deputy Chairman for the Gomel Region (Homiel Voblast). In 2001, he became the Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Belarus, and then in 2002, became the First Deputy Prime Minister. In July 2003, Prime Minister Gennady Novitsky was dismissed and Sidorsky served as acting Prime Minister until he was officially confirmed as the permanent Prime Minister in December.

Andrei Kobyakov, The Current PM Of Belarus

Andrei Kobyakov is the current prime minister of the country, having assumed office on December 27th, 2014. Kobyakov's family moved to Belarus when he was three and he has lived in the country ever since. In 1983, he graduated from the Moscow Aviation Institute and then spend the next several years working at the Minsk Mechanical Works assembly plant factory. He then went back to school, graduating from the Belarusian State Institute of National Economy in 1991. He then became the Head of the Planning and Economic Department and the Deputy Director of Economy at the Rogachev “Diaprojector” Plant. In 1995, he entered politics and over the next several years worked himself up through multiple positions to become the First Deputy Prime Minister of Belarus in 2000. In 2001, he was appointed as the Deputy Prime Minister by the president, a position that he held until 2010, while also briefly serving as the Economy Minister. Between his role as Deputy Prime Minister ending and being appointed as prime minister, he served as the Deputy Head of the Presidential Administration of Belarus, Ambassador to Russia and as the Chief of Staff to the President.

The Duties Of The Prime Minister Of Belarus

The prime minister of Belarus has a number of duties, with the foremost being acting as the head of the government. The prime minister is responsible for managing the main agendas of the government and directing the other ministers in the Council of Ministers. The prime minister is the head of his administration and is part of the Presidium of the Council of Ministers, as well as the aforementioned Council of Ministers. The prime minister and his government are directly accountable to the president of the country.

Prime Ministers Of Belarus Since 1990

Prime Ministers of Belarus Since 1990Term in Office
Vyacheslav Kebich
Mikhail Chigir
Sergey Ling
Vladimir Yermoshin
Gennady Novitsky
Sergei Sidorsky
Mikhail Myasnikovich
Andrei Kobyakov (Incumbent)2014-Present

More in Politics