Presidents Of Peru Since 1945

The Government Palace of Peru.
The Government Palace of Peru.

Peru, officially known as the Republic of Peru, is a country in South America. As of 2015, the state’s population was estimated at 31.5 million. Spanish is the official language although Quechua and native languages are also spoken. It is a presidential representative democratic republic with the president as the head of state and the government. The president is elected for a five-year term and is eligible for reelection in nonconsecutive terms. The president selects the prime minister who chairs the cabinet.

Presidents of Peru

Jose Bustamante y Rivero

Jose Bustamante y Rivero was the president of Peru from 1945 until 1948. He was born in Arequipa. He received his education at Colegio San José and the Universidad Nacional San Agustín de Arequipa. He served as a legal scholar and as a professor before joining politics. He served as the Peruvian ambassador to Bolivia in 1934 and 1942, in 1939, he served as the ambassador to Uruguay. In 1945, Bustamante vied for the presidency and comfortably won the elections. 

Manuel Arturo Odría Amoretti

Manuel Arturo Odría Amoretti was the president of Peru from 1948 until 1956. He ousted the president in a military coup and served his presidential term as a military dictator. He served as the minister of government and police in the cabinet of President Bustamante before resigning. He led a coup on October 28th, 1948 that ousted Bustamante. After two years as the president, he resigned, and Zenon Noriega assumed office as a puppet president. 

Pedro Pablo Kuczynski

Pedro Pablo Kuczynski was the president of Peru between 2016 and 2018. He formerly served as the prime minister of Peru from 2005 to 2006. He was born in Lima, Peru and attended Markham College before attending Rossall School and Exeter College in England. The World Bank employed him in 1961 where he served as a regional economist for countries in Central America. He returned to Peru in 1967 and served at the central bank. After the fall of the government of the then president Fernando Belaunde Terry, he fled to the US due to political persecution. 

Roles of the President of Peru

The office of the president of Peru is established and defined by the Peruvian Constitution. The president is the head of state and government of Peru. The president represents the state in international matters. The presidential term lasts for five years and the constitution prohibit immediate reelections of the sitting president. The constitution sets July 28th as the official date of change of government. It is also the day that marks the country’s independence from Spain.

Presidents Of Peru Since 1945

Presidents of Peru Since 1945Term(s) in Office
José Bustamante y RiveroJuly 28, 1945 – October 29, 1948
Manuel A. OdríaOctober 29, 1948 – June 1, 1950; July 28, 1950 – July 28, 1956
Zenón Noriega AgüeroJune 1, 1950 – July 28, 1950
Manuel Prado y UgartecheJuly 28, 1956 – July 18, 1962
Ricardo Pérez GodoyJuly 18, 1962 – March 3, 1963
Nicolás Lindley LópezMarch 3, 1963 – July 28, 1963
Fernando Belaúnde TerryJuly 28, 1963 – October 3, 1968; July 28, 1980 – July 28, 1985
Juan Velasco AlvaradoOctober 3, 1968 – August 30, 1975
Francisco Morales BermúdezAugust 30, 1975 – July 28, 1980
Alan García PérezJuly 28, 1985 – July 28, 1990; July 28, 2006 – July 28, 2011
Alberto FujimoriJuly 28, 1990 – November 22, 2000
Valentín PaniaguaNovember 22, 2000 – July 28, 2001
Alejandro ToledoJuly 28, 2001 – July 28, 2006
Ollanta HumalaJuly 28, 2011 – July 28, 2016
Pedro Pablo KuczynskiJuly 28, 2016 – 2018
Martin Vizcarra Cornejo2018–

More in Politics