Los Angeles Sports Teams

The Staples Center is the home of the LA Lakers (NBA), LA Clippers (NBA), LA Kings (NHL), and the LA Sparks (WNBA).  Editorial credit: Joseph Sohm / Shutterstock.com
The Staples Center is the home of the LA Lakers (NBA), LA Clippers (NBA), LA Kings (NHL), and the LA Sparks (WNBA). Editorial credit: Joseph Sohm / Shutterstock.com

Los Angeles (LA) city is a home to several professional, semi-professional as well as amateur teams, including college sports. The Greater LA region alone has at least nine professional sports sides that play in the major leagues of the US.

11. Los Angeles Angels

The LA Angels is a baseball franchise found in Anaheim, California. Angels compete in the MLB on account of them being a member of the American League’s (AL) West Division. Since 1966, they have played home matches at the Angel Stadium. The current team was formed as a consequence of expansion in 1961 by the team’s first owner, Gene Autry. The name ‘Angels’ was adopted by Gene in honour of the original team who had that name. The three official Angel colours are red, navy blue, and silver. Competitively, they have done very well. Angels won the AL championship of the West Division for three consecutive seasons. Recently, they have not been too great with 2013 marking a fourth straight year where they didn’t qualify for the postseason.

10. Los Angeles Dodgers

A National League Championship Series at Dodger Stadium. Editorial credit: Joseph Sohm / Shutterstock.com

The Dodgers compete professionally in the Major League Baseball as an affiliate of the National League in the West Division. The LA Dodgers team was established back in the year 1883 in Brooklyn, New York and later elected to move to LA just before the 1958 season started. After playing for a total of four seasons at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, they moved to their current home stadium of the Dodger Stadium in the year 1962. The Dodgers’ official colours are blue, red, and white and have bagged six World Series titles plus twenty one pennants of the National League (NL). In addition, they have produced 11 NL Most Valuable Award (MVP) winners.

9. Los Angeles Clippers

Clippers play in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as an affiliate of the league’s Western Conference Pacific Division and have their home matches at the Staples Centre in Los Angeles. The Staples Centre is shared between them and three other teams. Clippers were founded in 1970 in New York and later moved to California in 1978. Official team colours are red, blue, black, white, and silver. Success hasn’t been easy for them until early 2010’s when they won their maiden division title and again in 2014.

8. Los Angeles Lakers

Statues of former Lakers and NBA legends Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Magic Johnson outside the Staples Center. Editorial credit: Gabriele Maltinti / Shutterstock.com

Like their neighbours, LA Clipper, the Lakers also play in the NBA. The Lakers are part of the NBA as members of Western Conference Pacific Division. The Staples Centre is the pitch they share with four other teams. The club was established in 1947 in Minneapolis, moved to the NBA in 1949 where they moved to Los Angeles during the 1960-61 season. Official colours are purple, gold, white, and black. 16 NBA titles show how hugely successful they have been. NBA legends like Magic Johnson, Jerry West, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Shaquille O'Neal, and Kobe Bryant have played for them.

7. Los Angeles Kings

Kings are an ice hockey team belonging to the Pacific Division of the Western Conference. The team was formed in 1967 and currently play their National Hockey League (NHL) home games at the Staples Centre. Kings are among the six teams that started playing during the NHL expansion of 1967. Kings’ jerseys can either be silver, black, or white in colour. The team has won two Stanley Cups, three conference championships as well as one division championship.

6. Los Angeles Sparks

Sparks play in the Women’s NBA and founded before the league started in 1997. Home ties are played at the Staples Centre which they share with other teams. The Sparks are in the Western Conference. Team colours are blue, teal, black, and gold. As of 2015, they became the last side to win end-to-end titles. The LA Sparks have previously won three championships and have qualified for the WNBA playoff games sixteen times of their twenty years in the WNBA.

5. Los Angeles FC

LA FC is a new soccer team set to begin play in the MLS in 2018 having been announced in 2014 and shall play home ties at the Banc of California Stadium.

4. Los Angeles Galaxy

Dan Garganof the Los Angeles Galaxy. Editorial credit: Photo Works / Shutterstock.com

LA Galaxy play in Major League Soccer (MLS) having been formed in 1994 and are part of the Western Conference. The team began to play in 1994 with home matches at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena. LA Galaxy wears white and blue and are one of the most successful clubs in the MLS with five MLS trophies, four times Supporter’s Shield, Lamar Hunt US Open Cup, and CONCACAF champions in 2000.

3. Los Angeles Chargers

Chargers play in the NFL as members of the American Football Conference (AFC) West Division. The team was formed in 1959 then moved to San Diego in 1961 and then back to LA for the 2017 season. Home games are at the StubHub Centre until 2020. Navy and powder blue are the official colours alongside white and gold. They have won 15 division championships as well as 18 playoff appearances.

2. Los Angeles Rams

Rams are part of the National Football Conference, West Division. First established in 1936 in Ohio, they ultimately moved to LA in 2016 after stints in different cities. Their home turf is The Dome at America’s Centre until 2020 when the Los Angeles Stadium is complete. Approved colours are millennium blue, new century gold, and white. Rams have one Super Bowl and three championships as well as 6 conference championships among other achievements.

1. Anaheim Ducks

Ducks play in the NHL because they are part of the Pacific Division of the Western Conference. Their home turf has been the Honda Centre ever since the Ducks were formed. The club was formed in 1993 as The Mighty Ducks of Anaheim who changed the name to the Anaheim Ducks before the 2006-07 season. Ducks’ colours are black, metallic gold, silver, and orange. The team has also made the playoffs thirteen times and have six Pacific Division titles under their belt. In addition, they have won one Stanley Cup and two conference championships.


More in World Facts