Chancellors Of Austria Since World War II (WW2)

Since Austria became free from German control in 1945, these Chancellors have been the Heads of Government.

The Federal Republic of Austria is a landlocked country in Central Europe bordered by Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Germany, Slovenia, Italy, Liechtenstein, and Slovakia. Austria has a population of over 8.7 million people. The head of government in Austria is The Federal Chancellor whose official seat is the Federal Chancellery. The current Chancellor of Austria is Christian Kern from the Social Democratic Party and was sworn into office on May 17th, 2016. The term Chancellor dates back to 9th Century during the reign of King Louis the German when the office of Archchancellor later known as Chancellor which was established as a high office on the service of the Holy Roman Emperor. The duties of the Austrian Chancellor include representing the supreme federal authority of the executive branch. The Chancellor is considered to be the most powerful person in Austrian politics

Karl Renner

Karl Renner was born on December 14th, 1870 in Vienna, Austria. He was a politician of the Socialist Party and was also known as Father of the Republic since he headed the first German Austrian government and the first Austrian Republic between 1918 and 1919. Renner was the first Chancellor of Austria after World War II starting from April to December of 1945. After the fall of the Nazi Germany in 1945, Renner helped established the present Second Republic by becoming its first President. Renner first started his political career in 1896 when he joined the Social Democratic Workers' Party of Austria. Due to his interest in politics, Renner became a librarian for the Reichsrat. Throughout his life Renner was dedicated and committed as a Social Democrat politician and an academic scholar who was focused between private property and private law. The academic years of 1977-1978 of the College of Europe was named in honor Renner

Julius Raab

Julius Raab was born on November 29th, 1891 in Sankt Pölten in Lower Austria. He was a conservative politician who served as the 15th Austrian Chancellor from 1953 until 1961. Raab first studied civil engineering at the Vienna University of Technology before he was drafted into the military as a pioneer officer fighting on the Russian and Italian fronts in World War II. After the war he went back to the University and engaged in politics. During his time as Chancellor he negotiated and signed the Austrian State Treaty in 1955 procuring independence for allied-occupied Austria.

Wolfgang Schüssel

Wolfgang Schüssel was born on June 7th, 1945 in Vienna, Austria. Schüssel is a politician from the Austrian People's Party and was the 22nd Chancellor of Austria serving for two conservative terms between 2000 and 2007. Schüssel attended the University of Vienna where he studied law and graduated with a Doctorate in 1968 after which he was appointed secretary of the parliamentary group of the Austrian People's Party till 1975. He later on became Minister for Economic Affairs in 1989. He is recognized as an active reformer in the politics of Austria.

Christian Kern

Christian Kern was born on January 4th, 1966 in Vienna, Austria. He is an Austrian politician and chairman of the Social Democratic Party. Kern is the 25th and the incumbent Chancellor of Austria having assumed office on June 25th, 2016. Kern who is a business journalist by profession worked as a senior manager at Verbund AG which is a leading electricity company in Austria later on he was appointed as the CEO of Austrian Federal Railways. Kern was nominated as the Austrian Chancellery candidate following the resignation of Werner Faymann ahead of the Presidential election.

The Goverment of Austria

Austria is a federal parliamentary republic with both a Chancellor and a President. The President is the head of state while the Chancellor is the head of government. The president is elected directly by absolute majority through a popular vote in a second round if it becomes necessary for a six-year term and eligible for a second term. The last elections were held on April 24th, 2016 a second round was held on May 22nd, 2016 and was annulled. Another second round was held on December 4th, 2016, therefore the next presidential election will be held in April 2022. The president appoints the chancellor and is determined by the majority coalition parties in the Federal assembly.

Chancellors of Austria Since World War 2Term in Office
Karl Renner
April to December of 1945
Leopold Figl
Julius Raab
Alfons Gorbach
Josef Klaus
Bruno Kreisky
Fred Sinowatz1983-1986
Franz Vranitzky
Viktor Klima
Wolfgang Schüssel
Alfred Gusenbauer
Werner Faymann
Christian Kern (Incumbent)2016-Present

More in Politics