1. World Map/
  2. South America/
  3. Argentina/
  4. Argentina Timeline

Argentina History Timeline

1500s - 1800s
  • (1438-1535) The Inca Empire & Civilization
  • (1516) Juan Diaz de Solis first European to search for gold
  • (1580) Buenos Aires established
  • (1680) Portuguese established a trading post
  • (1776) Spain created one large colony -Viceroyalty of the Rio de la Plata
  • (1810) Napoleon overthrew the King of Spain
  • (1812) Jose de San Martin led fight against Spain for independence
  • (1816) Argentina declared independence from Spain
  • (1853) Argentina declared a republic
  • (1859) Bartolome Mitre defeated Unitarian forces, Buenos Aires re-entered confederation
  • (1943) Juan Peron rose to power
  • (1945) Juan Peron married Eva Marie Duarte (Evita)
  • (1947) Juan Peron elected president with First Lady Evita; women's suffrage approved
  • (1952) Evita died of cancer
  • (1955) Army and Navy rebellion and Juan Peron fled country
  • (1956) Constitution of 1853 restored
  • (1960) Peron married Isabel Martinez
  • (1973) Peron elected President
  • (1974) Peron died, Isabel became president

Argentina Trivia

What Languages Are Spoken in Argentina?

Spanish is the most spoken language in Argentina. Argentina is the fourth most populous Spanish-speaking nation in the world after Mexico, Spain, and Colombia. Italian ranks second among the languages spoken in Argentina.

What Languages Are Spoken In Argentina?

What is the Capital of Argentina?

The capital of Argentina is Buenos Aires, which is located along the southeastern shore of South America, along the Río de la Plata. This city has a population size of 3.89 million and a metropolitan population of around 17 million, making it the largest in the country and fourth largest in the western hemisphere.

What Is The Capital of Argentina?

What is the Biggest City in Argentina?

Buenos Aires, the capital of Argentina, is also its largest city hosting a population of 2,776,138 people.

The Biggest Cities In Argentina

What is the Largest Religious Group in Argentina?

Argentina is a predominantly Roman Catholic Christian nation, although daily life for most citizens is very secular.

Religious Beliefs In Argentina

What Kind of Government Does Argentina Have?

Argentina is a presidential democratic republic where the President is the Head of State and the Head of Government, and the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The government operates in three branches, the executive, the legislature, and the judiciary.

What Type Of Government Does Argentina Have?

Which Are The Native Plants Of Argentina?

Argentina’s varied climate and terrain creates the ideal environment for the growth of a great diversity of species of flowers, trees, and grasses. The country is home to over 10% of the global varieties of flora. These include Darwin’s Barberry, Yerba Mate, Darwin’s Slipper, Santa Cruz Water Lily, etc.

Native Plants Of Argentina

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries Of South America