1. Home
  2. North America
  3. Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia History Timeline

Map of Saint Lucia
Locator Map of Saint Lucia bahamas florida gulf of mexico mexico jamaica dominican republic st. vincent and the grenadines grenada central america atlantic ocean atlantic ocean usa honduras nicaragua panama caribbean sea pacific ocean puerto rico south america trinidad and tobago colombia barbados

Saint Lucia's Information

Flag of Saint Lucia
Land Area 606 km2
Water Area 10 km2
Total Area 616 km2
Population 164,464
Population Density 266.99 / km2
Government Type Parliamentary Democracy (Parliament) Under A Constitutional Monarchy; A Commonwealth Realm
GDP (PPP) $2.08 Billion
GDP Per Capita $12,000
Currency Dollar (XCD)
Largest Cities
  • Castries (20,000)
200 - 1500
  • (200AD) Island first settled by Arawak Indians
  • (800AD) Caribs took over; named island "Iouanalao", meaning "Island of the Iguanas"
  • (1501) St. Lucia sighted by Christopher Columbus
  • (1550s) First European settlement established by buccaneer Francios le Clerc (aka Jambe de Bois or Wooden Leg)
  • (1600s) Dutch arrived, established fortified base at Vieux Fort
  • (1605) Resident Caribs forced English colonists to flee
  • (1635) French established colony on St. Lucia
  • (1639) Resident Caribs forced English colonists to flee again
  • (1660) French signed treaty with indigenous Carib people
1700s - 1800s
  • (1780) Twelve settlements, large number of sugar plantations established by French
  • (1814) After series of battles, island was ceded to Britain under Treaty of Paris; Britain proclaimed island a crown colony, brought in African slaves to work on sugarcane plantations
  • (1834) Slavery abolished
  • (1871-1956) St. Lucia became member of Leeward Islands Federation
  • (1924) St. Lucia granted representative government
  • (1936) St. Lucia given constitution, provided for majority of elected representatives in legislative council
  • (1951) St. Lucia granted universal adult suffrage
  • (1958-62) St. Lucia became member of Federation of the West Indies
  • (1964) St. Lucia ceased sugar cane production
  • (1967) Self-government with associated state status achieved
  • (1979) St. Lucia became part of Commonwealth; Allan Louisy became prime minister
  • (1981) Louisy resigned after split with SLP party; replaced by Winston Cenac, attorney general
  • (1982) John Compton returned to power after UWP party won elections
  • (1987) UWP won narrow victory in general elections
  • (1992) UWP won another election
  • (1993) Unrest, strikes by farmers, agricultural workers due to fall in banana prices
  • (1996) John Compton resigned, succeeded by Vaughan Lewis as prime minister
  • (1997) SLP Kenny Anthony became prime minister
  • (2002) Tropical Storm Lili destroyed half the banana crop
  • (2003) Parliament amended constitution to replace oath of allegiance to British monarch with pledge of loyalty to St. Lucians; new criminal code passed
  • (2004) Pitons volcanic twin peaks declared UNESCO World Heritage site
  • (2006) John Compton's UWP party won general elections
  • (2007) Prime Minister John Compton died, replaced by Stephenson King as prime minister
  • (2009) Two women selected to Parliament; China lashed out at St. Lucia due to its restoration of diplomatic relations with Taiwan; Hurricane Dean struck St. Lucia, caused widespread damage
  • (2010) Gunman entered Prime Minister King's home-district office, killed man waiting to see PM; Hurricane Tomas struck

Latest by WorldAtlas