1. World Map/
  2. Europe /
  3. United Kingdom /
  4. Wales /
  5. Maps /

Wales Regions Map

On April 1, 1996, the country of Wales was divided into 22 unitary authorities; this includes 9 counties, 3 cities and 10 county boroughs, although all have equal powers. Collectively these are known as the principal areas of Wales.

The map shown below divides wales into commonly recognized tourism divisions. Our newest (unitary authorities) map will be posted soon.

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on June 16, 2020.