1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. Nepal/
  4. Nepal Timeline

Nepal History Timeline

Nepal's Information

Flag of Nepal
Land Area 143,351 km2
Water Area 3,830 km2
Total Area 147,181km2 (#93)
Population 29,033,914 (#45)
Population Density 202.54/km2
Government Type Federal Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $71.52 Billion
GDP Per Capita $2,500
Currency Rupee (NPR)
More Information Nepal
Largest Cities
400 - 1800
  • (400 - 750) Lichhavi established kingdom in Nepal after losing political stronghold in India
  • (889) Bhaktapur was founded during Malla dynasty
  • (1200 - 1500) Bhaktapur dominated Kathmandu Valley region both culturally and politically
  • (1484 - 1768) Malla dynasty divided up Kathmandu Valley, city-states of Kathmandu, Patan, Bhaktapur were ruled by own Malla king
  • (1768) Prithvi Narayan Shah, the Gurkha ruler, conquered Kathmandu, laid foundations for unified kingdom
  • (1792) Tibetan Chinese halted Nepalese expansion
  • (1806) Bhimsen Thapa became prime minister
  • (1813) At the age of three, Rajendra Bikram Shah became King of Nepal, kept hidden in the Royal Palace while Queen Lalit Tripura Sundari and Prime Minister Bhimsen Thapa ruled the nation under his name
  • (1814 - 1816) Anglo-Nepalese War took place
  • (1816) Nepal's current borders established by treaty at end of Anglo-Nepalese War
  • (1837) King Shah came out of hiding, announced he would rule Nepal, stripped Prime Minister Bhimsen Thapa of authority
  • (1846) Country was isolated from outside world by the Ranas, the chief ministers, who dominated the monarchy
  • (1846) Jang Bahadur Rana, founder of Rana dynasty, and his brothers killed 40 members of the palace court, including the prime minister and a relative of the king in the Kot Massacre
  • (1855 - 1856) Tibetan government and invading Nepalese army fought in the Nepalese-Tibetan War in Tibet
  • (1856) A royal decree gave absolute power to the prime minister and his family
  • (1877) Jang Bahadur Rana died, his brother Ranodip Singh Rana, succeeded him as prime minister
  • (1885) Prime Minister Ranodip Singh Rana was assassinated by two nephews in a coup, Bir Shamsher (another nephew) became prime minister
  • (1901) Prime Minister Shamsher Rana forced to abdicate; Chandra Shamsher Rana became prime minister
  • (1911) King Prithvi Bir Bikram Shah died, his son King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah ascended to the throne
  • (1914 - 1918) Thousands of Nepalese citizens fought as British soldiers during World War I
  • (1923) Nepal's sovereignty affirmed by treaty with Britain
  • (1935) First political party, the Praja Parishad, was established
  • (1939 - 1945) Thousands of Nepalese citizens fought as British soldiers during World War II
  • (1947) Nepali National Congress established
  • (1948) Prime Minister Padma Shamsher Rana introduced first constitution of Nepal
  • (1948) Prime Minister Padma Shamsher Rana resigned, Mohan Shamsher Rana became prime minister
  • (1948) Nepal and USA establish diplomatic relations
  • (1950) Alliance formed with monarch by anti-Rana forces based in India
  • (1951) Rana rule ended, sovereignty of crown was restored
  • (1951) Anti-Rama rebels in Nepalese Congress Party formed government
  • (1953) Sir Edmund Hillary of New Zealand and Tenzing Norgay, a Nepal Sherpa, became the first climbers to reach the summit of Mount Everest.
  • (1955) Nepal joined United Nations
  • (1955) King Tribhuwan died, King Mahendra ascended to the throne
  • (1959) New multi-party constitution adopted
  • (1960) Nepali Congress Party (NCP) won elections, B. P. Koirala elected premier
  • (1960) Following elections, King Mahendra took control, suspended the parliament, constitution and party politics
  • (1962) New constitution provided for non-party system of councils (panchayat), granted sole power to king
  • (1963) First elections to Rastrya Panchayat held
  • (1972) King Mahendra died, Birendra ascended to throne
  • (1980) Constitutional referendum allowed direct non-party elections to national assembly
  • (1985) Nepali Congress Party (NCP) began campaign for restoration of multi-party system
  • (1985) Nepal was founding member of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia