1. World Map/
  2. Europe/
  3. Luxembourg/
  4. Where is Luxembourg

Where is Luxembourg?

map showing the location of Luxembourg

Located in the continent of Europe, Luxembourg covers 2,586 square kilometers of land, making it the 180th largest nation in terms of land area.

Luxembourg became an independent state in 1867, after gaining its sovereignty from The Netherlands. The population of Luxembourg is 509,074 (2012) and the nation has a density of 197 people per square kilometer.

The currency of Luxembourg is the Euro (EUR). As well, the people of Luxembourg are refered to as Luxembourg.

The dialing code for the country is 352 and the top level internet domain for Luxembourg sites is .lu.

Luxembourg shares land borders with 3 countries: Germany, Belgium, France.

To learn more, visit our detailed Luxembourg section.

Quick facts

Population 509,074
Density 196.9 / km2 ( 509.9 / mi2 )
Languages French, German, Luxembourgish
Independence Year 1867
Capital Luxembourg (Luxembourg)
Currency Euro
GDP 60,130,847,624 (2013 data)
GDP per Capita 118,118 (2013 data)
Land Area 2,586 km2 (998 mi2)
Neighbouring Countries Belgium, Germany
Minimum Longitude 5.730
Maximum Longitude 6.530
Mininum Latitude 49.450
Maximum Latitude 50.180

What is the capital of Luxembourg?

map showing the location of Luxembourg
Location of Luxembourg on a map.

Luxembourg is the capital city of Luxembourg. It has a population of 76,684, and is located on a latitue of 49.61 and longitude of 6.13.

Luxembourg is also the political center of Luxembourg, which is considered a Constitutional Monarchy, and home to its Ceremonial head of state.

Quick Facts About Luxembourg, the Capital Of Luxembourg

City Luxembourg
Country Luxembourg
Population 76,684
Longitude 6.13000000
Latitude 49.61167000
Elevation 316 meters over sea level

Most popular cities in Luxembourg

Rank City Population

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on October 2, 2015.