World Facts

The 10 Smallest Countries in Africa

All the top 5 smallest African nations are island nations.

Africa’s Boundaries

The second largest continent in the world, Africa, encompasses 54 sovereign countries within its boundaries. The continent occupies a total area of 30.3 million square km accounting for 20.4% of the world’s land area. The Mediterranean Sea washes the shores of Africa to the north, the Atlantic Ocean lies to the west of the country and the Indian Ocean to the southeast. To the northeast of Africa is the Suez Canal and the Red Sea.

The Five Smallest African Nations By Size

All of the five smallest African nations are island nations. These include the Seychelles, São Tomé and Príncipe, Mauritius, Comoros, and Cape Verde. The smallest nation in continental mainland of Africa is The Gambia.

The smallest nations of Africa are also some of the least populated African countries. Seychelles, the smallest country by area (451 square km), is also the least populated sovereign African nation with a population of about 94,228 people. The second smallest African nation, São Tomé and Príncipe cover an area of 964 square km and it is also the continent’s second least populated nation. It houses 192,993 people, as of 2013.

Some of the smallest countries in Africa are also some of the richest nations of the continent in terms of GDP per capita. Seychelles and Mauritius both feature in the list of 10 Richest Countries of Africa. In fact, these countries rank second and third among the African countries in terms of GDP per capita.

1. Seychelles

Seychelles is an archipelago of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean and a major tourist destination. Victoria is the capital city of this island nation. The capital is located about 1,500 km away from mainland Africa. Comoros, Madagascar, and Mauritius are some of the island nations of Africa located in the Indian Ocean near Seychelles. The nation occupies an area of 451 square km.

2. São Tomé and Príncipe

The second smallest country in Africa, São Tomé and Príncipe, is located in the Gulf of Guinea. São Tomé and Príncipe are the two main islands of the archipelago. The islands are located at a distance of about 250 and 225 km off the coast of Gabon in mainland Central Africa. The country has an area of 964 square km.

3. Mauritius

The island nation of Mauritius is a major tourist destination. It is located in the Indian Ocean where it occupies a total area of 2,040 square km. Mauritius’ territory includes the Mascarene Islands of Rodrigues and Mauritius and other outer islands. Port Louis is the capital of the country.

4. Comoros

Comoros is an archipelago and a sovereign African nation located in the Indian Ocean. The archipelago is located between the African island nation of Madagascar and the African mainland nation of Mozambique. Comoros occupies an area of 2,235 square km and features three main island and numerous smaller island.

5. Cape Verde

The nation of Cape Verge is an archipelago with 10 islands of volcanic origin. The archipelago is located in the Atlantic Ocean at a distance of about 570 km to the west of Senegal’s Cape Verde Peninsula on mainland Africa. The island nation covers an area of 4,033 square km, making it the fifth smallest nation in Africa.

What is the Smallest Country in Africa?

The smallest country in continental Africa is the Gambia. However, if island countries are considered, Seychelles is the smallest country in Africa. Seychelles is only 452 square kilometers.

Which Are The 10 Smallest Countries Of Africa By Size?

1Seychelles451 km2
2São Tomé and Príncipe964 km2
3Mauritius2,040 km2
4Comoros2,235 km2
5Cape Verde4,033 km2
6Gambia10,380 km2
7Swaziland17,364 km2
8Djibouti23,200 km2
9Rwanda26,798 km2
10Burundi27,830 km2

About the Author

Oishimaya is an Indian native, currently residing in Kolkata. She has earned her Ph.D. degree and is presently engaged in full-time freelance writing and editing. She is an avid reader and travel enthusiast and is sensitively aware of her surroundings, both locally and globally. She loves mingling with people of eclectic cultures and also participates in activities concerning wildlife conservation.


Your MLA Citation

Your APA Citation

Your Chicago Citation

Your Harvard Citation

Remember to italicize the title of this article in your Harvard citation.

More in World Facts