Where Does The President Of Ireland Live?

Áras an Uachtaráin, Ireland.
Áras an Uachtaráin, Ireland.

 In Ireland, one presidential term is seven years. The official presidential residence is known as Áras an Uachtaráin which is an Irish name that literally means “residence of the president.” This building is located off Chesterfield Avenue in Phoenix Park, Dublin, the country capital.

Description Of The Áras an Uachtaráin

The Áras an Uachtaráin was designed by Nathaniel Clements. The complementary designers were Jacob Owen, Francis Johnston, and Decimus Burton. The building’s construction was completed in 1751. However, five renovations were done between the 1840s and 1911 to make it more habitable to the Irish heads of state. The first Irish President, Douglas Hyde, occupied the residence in 1938.

The Áras an Uachtaráin has 95 rooms which perform various functions. The residence of the president partly acts as his or her office which means that some important government businesses take place there. An example of such matters are the meetings with the Presidential Commission that comprises the President of the Supreme Court, Chairpersons of the Assembly and Senate of Ireland, and the Council of State. Besides, the swearing-in of government officials such as the judges, senior defense forces officers, Auditor General, government ministers, and Auditor General also takes place at the Áras an Uachtaráin. Finally, some of the rooms in the President’s residence are for storing important files related to the office of the president.

Dignitaries Visiting The Áras an Uachtaráin

Many important persons have visited the Áras an Uachtaráin over the years with some of them being monarchs, presidents, and other great world leaders. Examples of monarchs who visited the Irish president’s residence were Queen Victoria and King George V of England, King Baudouin of Belgium, and Princess Grace of Monaco. Furthermore, American presidents that visited Áras an Uachtaráin include Ronald Reagan, Bill Clinton, John F. Kennedy, Richard Nixon, and Barrack Obama. Otherworld leaders that were privileged to visit this residence were Pope Francis of the Roman Catholic and Nelson Mandela who was the first African president of South Africa.


More in World Facts