What Is The Capital Of Sweden?

Gamla Stan (Old Town) of Stockholm, Sweden.
Gamla Stan (Old Town) of Stockholm, Sweden.

The Swedish Capital is Stockholm, and it has the largest population of the cities of the Nordic Countries. The Stockholm region contributes nearly 30% of the Swedish GDP and has about 22% of the country’s total population. 2.3 million residents live in the Stockholm metropolitan area.

History Of Stockholm, The Capital Of Sweden

The area where Stockholm lies was inhabited as early as 8,000 years after the Ice age. Dropping temperatures, however, forced the inhabitants to move southward. It was not until thousands of years later that a population settled in the area as the ground thawed. The Vikings established the Old Town of Stockholm in 1000 CE where the Baltic Sea meets Lake Mälaren. The earliest written account of Stockholm is from 1252, when the city was associated with the iron trade because of the mines in Bergslagen. The establishment of Stockholm is credited to Birger Jarl, a statesman who sought to cushion Sweden from possible sea invasions by Karelians. The present Old Town of Stockholm was constructed on the central island beginning in the 13th century. The city benefited from the Baltic trade and enjoyed strong cultural and economic ties with cities such as Hamburg, Visby, and Riga. Stockholm has occupied a central place in the political scene of Sweden.

Location And Geography Of Stockholm

Stockholm lies on the south-central east coast of Sweden in the region where Lake Mälaren discharges its waters into the Baltic Sea. It is spread across 17 islands, and 14 of them make up the central parts of the city. The islands are continuous with the Stockholm archipelago. Part of the city lies on the water, in Riddarfjärden bay. More than 30% of Stockholm’s area features waterways while another 30% is designated as parks and green spaces. The city’s location establishes it as one of the world’s most spectacular cities.

Administration Of The Swedish Capital City

The Stockholm region consists of 11 municipalities. An estimated 932,917 residents live in the Stockholm Municipality. The municipality is divided into district councils mandated to oversee primary schools as well as leisure, social, and cultural services. The Stockholm Municipality features the Stockholm City Centre (Innerstaden), Western Stockholm (Västerort), and Southern Stockholm (Söderort). The Municipality is headed by a Mayor and an elected Municipal Council.

Role Of The City

The city is Sweden’s financial capital, being home to the headquarters of the nation’s major banks as well as the largest insurance companies. The Stockholm Stock Exchange, located in the city, is Sweden’s primary stock exchange. An estimated 45% of the total Swedish Companies have their headquarters in Stockholm. The City supports a thriving service sector which accounts for approximately 85% of the jobs in Stockholm. Stockholm is the official seat of the government of Sweden in addition to its agencies. The official residence of the Prime Minister as well as those of the Swedish Monarch is located in Stockholm. The monarch conducts its official duties in the Stockholm Palace, and the Royal Family lives in the Drottningholm Palace which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Stockholm is home to numerous higher education Institutions, some of which are ranked top in Europe. These institutions include Stockholm University, the Royal Institute of Technology, and the Stockholm School of Economics. Stockholm plays a pivotal in the Swedish tourism economy as it is ranked the 10th most visited European destination.


More in World Facts