What Continent Is Norway In?

The mountainous landscape of Norway.
The mountainous landscape of Norway.

Norway derived its name from the coastal atlantics Norway. The country was first named by the ancient Anglo-Saxons in the year 880. The word “Norpweg” from which the country obtained its name is an ancient English word translating to “the northern corridor,” because the region was seen as the way to the north by the early explorers. Norway comprises of a mainland on the western Scandinavian Peninsula as well as Jan Mayen Island and the Svalbard Archipelago in the Arctic Ocean. It is one of the countries on the northern region of the continent of Europe.

History of Norway

Evidence human existence in the Norway dates back to 10,000 BC during the Weichsel glaciations. Stone artifacts and wood carvings believed to have been used in the Stone Age have been excavated along the coast. By 2500 BC bronze introduced mainly by the Indo-Europeans. Fishing and hunting became popular due to more advanced equipment. A notable influence was from the Kalmar Union and collaboration with Denmark in the 15th century. The period is marked by thriving trade across the two countries.

The modern administration began in the 18th century when a centralized ruler was elected in May 1814. The Crown Prince Christian Frederick was crowned as King of Denmark and Norway. In June 1905, the two countries were separated. During the first and second World Wars, Norway took a neutral stand despite the pressure from the British and Germans. After the Second World War, there was stability in Norway and economy grew tremendously under the labor party.

Politics and Governance

Considered to be a highly democratic state, Norway was among the countries that wrote their constitution as early as 1814 adopting a unitary constitutional monarchy with both a king and a prime minister. The king heads the state while the prime minister heads the government. There is the executive, legislature and the judiciary which sits independently. The prime minister appoints ministers while the king is the commander in chief of the army and is seen as the symbol of unity and representation. King Harald reins while the prime minister is Madam Erna Solberg. Norway is divided into nineteen counties each under a governor and a county assembly. The counties are further divided into 403 municipalities each under a mayor. The capital city remains Oslo.


Having the 6th largest GDP worldwide, Norway is one of the fastest growing economies. Norway is a debt-free country, making it a very wealthy state with the citizens enjoying high-quality life. The economy largely depends on the oil which contributes half of the income. The government further encourages mixed economy thereby developing all sectors including financial, education, fishing and agriculture. The highways and the airports are well established and well maintained with Oslo airport as an international port. The health sector has modern equipment while tourism is promoted to earn foreign exchange.

Norway is in Europe

Norway is in Europe. Although it is not a member of the European Union following the vote against joining the union in 1994, the country still participates in all other European activities and events and remains an associate member of the Western European Union. Norway’s economic and trade relation with other European countries is governed by the European Economic Area (EEA) agreement. The Geographical location of the country is in Europe hence the country participates in European games and has won championships in various sports such as golf, snow sports, and ball games.



More in World Facts