Top Performing Countries In The World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship

World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship first took place in Vierumäki, Finland in March 2008.
World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship first took place in Vierumäki, Finland in March 2008.

The curling championship has been held annually since the year 2008 and has featured the best teams of mixed doubles in the world. The game consists of two players, a male and a female in each team, who represent their country with no substitute or alternate. Playing on the same sheet of ice, each team has six stones instead of eight like the traditional curling. One stone is placed at the line at the center from each team before the end play starts. One player is to deliver the first and last stones while the other player handles the second stone, third stone, and fourth stone and any of the team players can do sweeping, with a playing time of 46 minutes each and the games are fixed at eight ends.

Top Performing Countries


Switzerland has been the leading country in the championship since its inception, winning seven titles of the first eleven. The Switzerland team defeated Finland in 2008 and Hungary in 2009, they lost to the Russian team in 2010 but defeated them again in 2011. The team won their fourth title against Sweden and lost it to Hungary in 2013. They held the world championship title again in 2014, 2017, and 2018 after losing to Hungary and Russia in 2015 and 2016. Switzerland continues to be the world’s country with many titles in mixed doubles curling championship having a total of seven gold medals.


The Russian world mixed doubles curling team is the second-best team in the world. The Russians hosted the world mixed doubles curling team first in 2010 the same year they became the world champions after winning a match against New Zealand in a score of 9-7. They hosted the championship again in 2015 but won the 2016 match against China. In total Russia has a two gold medal and two silver medals after coming second to Switzerland both times.


Coming close to tying with Russia is the Hungary team which also won the curling championship twice. In the curling championship held in 2009, the Hungarian team came second to Switzerland winning their first silver medal. They first became champions in 2013 after defeating Sweden in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada where they won in a score of 8-7. The second title came in 2015 in a match also against Sweden in Russia where they won in a score of 6-5.


In 2008, Sweden won the first bronze coming third after Switzerland and Finland after defeating Norway. They won the Silver medal in 2012 after losing to Switzerland in a score of 7-6. Sweden then held the silver medal again in 2013, 2014, and 2015. The country holds a total of four silver medals and one bronze medal in a total of eleven years since the championship games began.

2018 Championships

The world mixed doubles curling championship for 2018 was Ostersund in Sweden at the Östersund Arena, which was held from April 21 to April 28. The event was held together with the 2018 World Senior Curling Championships, and the winning country was Switzerland playing against Russia.

Top Performing Countries In The World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship

1 Switzerland7 (2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2017, 2018)007
2 Russia2 (2010, 2016)2 (2011, 2018)04
3 Hungary2 (2013, 2015)1 (2009)03
4 Sweden04 (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015)1 (2008)5
5 Canada01 (2017)2 (2009, 2018)3
5 China01 (2016)2 (2010, 2017)3

More in World Facts