The New 13 Regions of France

The 13 regions of France.
The 13 regions of France.

France is a country located in Western Europe, although its territory also includes numerous overseas regions and territories. The country encompasses a total area of 640,679 km2 and has an estimated population of 67,022,000. For administrative purposes, France is divided 13 regions, along with 5 overseas territories.

A brief description of five administrative regions in France is presented below. A full list is available below. 


Britanny is a region located in northwest France that encompasses an area of 27,208 km2 and has an estimated population of 3,237,097. The capital of Brittany is Rennes, and the region is further divided into four departments: Ile-et-Vilaine, Finstére, Morbihan, and Côte d’Armor. Britany is famous for its magnificent sand beaches located along the region's 2,700 km long coastline, and is also considered a significant agricultural region in France. 


Île-de-France is a region in north-central France that encompasses an area of 12,012 km2 and has an estimated population of 12,140,526, ranking as the country's most populous region. The capital of Île-de-France is Paris, and the region is popularly referred to as the "Paris Region." Île-de-France is further divided into eight administrative departments: Paris; Essonne; Yvelines; Seine-Saint-Denis; Val-d’Oise; Hauts-de-Seine; Seine-et-Marne; and Val-de-Marne. The region is of great economic importance to the French economy, as it contributes 30% of the country’s gross domestic product (GDP).

Grand Est

Grand Est is a region in France located in the north-eastern part of the country that encompasses an area of 57,433 km2 and has an estimated population of 5,555,186. It was formed in 2016 by combining three former regions, namely Lorraine, Alsace, and Champagne-Ardenne. Grand Est is subdivided into 10 administrative departments: Haut-Rhin; Meuse; Vosges; Aube; Marne; Ardennes; Moselle; Haute-Marne; Meurthe-et-Moselle; and Bas-Rhin. Strasbourg is both the capital and largest city in the Grand Est region. Many tourists are attracted to the region due to its viniculture.


Guadeloupe is an overseas administrative region of France located in the Caribbean Sea that encompasses an area of 1,628 km2 and has an estimated population of 395,700. The region is composed of six inhabited archipelagos, as well as numerous uninhabited islands. Basse-Terre is one of Guadeloupe's main islands, as well as its capital. Guadeloupe is known for its long beaches and sugarcane fields. The region has also been designated as one of UNESCO's 25 Biosphere Reserves.


Mayotte is an overseas department and region of France located in the Indian Ocean, where it has borders Mozambique and Madagascar. The region, which includes a main island, smaller island, and numerous islets, encompasses a total area of 374 kmand has an estimated population of 270,372. The island is popular for diving destinations within its marine reserve. 

Regions of France With Populations and Capitals

6Grand Est5,555,186Strasbourg
7Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur5,007,977Marseilles
8Pays de la Loire3,553,352Nantes
12Centre-Val de Loire2,538,000Orléans

More in World Facts