Prime Ministers Of Uganda

Milton Obote on the 500 Shillings note from Uganda.  Editorial credit: Georgios Kollidas /
Milton Obote on the 500 Shillings note from Uganda. Editorial credit: Georgios Kollidas /

Uganda is a semi-presidential country located in East Africa. The capital city is Kampala which is also the largest city in the country. After attaining independence from Britain in 1962, the country elected Milton Obote as the executive Prime Minister and Edward Mutesa II as the President which was largely a ceremonial position. In 1966, there was a power struggle between Obote and King Mutesa who was a traditional Baganda king. The conflict led to the amendment of the constitution in 1967 where the ceremonial roles of the President and Vice President were abolished. Uganda was made a republic and abolished the traditional kingdoms and Obote was declared the executive President without any elections.

Prime Ministers of Uganda

Milton Obote

Milton Obote became the first executive Prime Minister following the end of British colonial rule in Uganda. He was born in 1925 and died in 2005 while in exile in South Africa. At early life, he worked in Kenya as a construction worker and was involved in the national independence movement. Upon going back to Uganda, he joined politics and was elected to the colonial legislative council. In early 1964, there was a military mutiny in Jinja city where the soldiers demanded promotions and pay rise which was agreed upon. Dictatorship marred the tenure of Obote, and at one time, he was implicated in a gold smuggling scandal with some of the top military officers.

Otema Allimadi

Otema Allimadi was born in 1929 in Kitgum, and lived until 2001. He also served as foreign minister from 1979 to 1980 and as an ambassador from 1964 to 1971. He became the first Prime Minister of Uganda after the post was re-established in 1980 and served for five years until 1985.

Paulo Muwanga

Paulo Muwanga was born in 1921 and died in 1991 in Kampala. He was a member of Ugandan's people Congress. In 1980, he was at the helm of the electoral commission and the de facto President for a few days until the Presidential Commission of Uganda was formed. He was the chairman of the commission which held the powers of the President in the country between May and December. After the elections, Milton Obote was declared the President but was ousted by Yoweri Museveni who staged guerrilla warfare. Muwanga later became the Prime Minister in 1985.

Amama Mbabazi

Mbabazi was born in Rukiga in 1949, and as a young man studied law at Makerere University. He worked as a state attorney in the Ugandan Attorney General Chambers and was later promoted to the post of secretary of Uganda Law Council. He has held several other positions in the government of Uganda, including as the head of the External Security Organization, Minister of State for Defense, Minister of State for Regional Cooperation, and Minister of State for Safety. He was appointed as the Prime Minister in May of 2011 and represented Uganda in many international capacities.

Ruhakana Rugunda

Rugunda was born in 1947 in Kabale, and would become a member of the National Resistance Movement Party. He was a doctor in profession, having Bachelor of medicine, bachelor of surgery and Masters of Science in public health. His political career started at Makerere University where he was elected as the President of the National Union of Uganda Students. However, his break into the national politics came after Museveni seized power in 1986. The President appointed Rugunda in several Cabinet posts, which included Minister of Works, Minister of Health, Minister of Information, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister for the Presidency, and Minister of the Interior. He was later appointed the prime minister in 2014.

Duties of the Ugandan Prime Minister​

The post of the Prime Minister in Uganda was first introduced in 1962 and later abolished in 1966 by Milton Obote. It was, however, reestablished in 1980. The primary role of the Prime Minister is to chair the Cabinet. The President is, however, the effective head of the government. Uganda has had several other Prime Ministers in addition to those discussed above. These have included Abraham Waligo, Samson Kisekka, George Cosmas Adyebo, Kintu Musoke, and Apolo Nsiibambi.

Prime Ministers Of Uganda

Prime Ministers of Uganda Since independence from Great BritainTerm in Office
Milton Obote
Otema Allimadi
Paulo Muwanga
Abraham Waligo
Samson Kisekka
George Cosmas Adyebo
Kintu Musoke
Apolo Nsibambi
Amama Mbabazi
Ruhakana Rugunda (Incumbent)2014-Present

More in Politics