Prime Ministers Of Tajikistan Since 1991

The Prime Minister is the Head of Government and leader of the national legislative branch in Tajikistan.

Tajikistan is a country that is located in Central Asia. In 1929 the Tajik Soviet Socialist Republic was created as a republic of the Soviet Union. Starting in the late 1980s Tajik nationalists were calling for increased rights from the Communist government and by 1990 disturbances started to take place in the republic. In 1991 the Soviet Union fell apart and Tajikistan declared its independence and renamed the country to the Republic of Tajikistan. However, shortly after becoming independent Tajikistan fell into the Tajikistani Civil War (1992-97). This war ended with a June 1997 peace agreement and the country has mostly been internally stable since. In November 1994 the new Constitution of Tajikistan was adopted, which along with 1999 and 2003 amendments, outlined the government.

Some of the prime ministers of Tajikistan:

Abdumalik Abdullajanov

Abdumalik Abdullajanov was born on January 1st, 1949 in the country of Tajikistan. He was the third prime minister of the country and was the first, and so far the only, prime minister from the now banned Party of People's Unity. Abdullajanov was appointed as prime minister on September 21st, 1992 and served for 454 days until December 18, 1993. He resigned as the prime minister of the country in order to become the first ambassador to Russia. In 1994 he attempted to run for president during the country;s second presidential elections but lost. After the loss, he moved to Russia for several years and then came to the United States of America, where he has refugee status. In 2013 he was detained at an airport in Ukraine on the request of Tajik authorities who accused him of plotting an assassination attempt on President Emomali Rahmon back in 1997 and organizing a riot in Sughd Province in 1998. Two months after being detained he was freed from detention, since Ukraine refused to extradite him.

Oqil Oqilov

Oqil Oqilov was born on February 2nd, 1944 in the city of Khujand in the northernmost area of Tajikistan. He was the first prime minister to be appointed that was a member of the People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan. Oqilov was appointed as prime minister of the country on December 20th, 1999. He is by far the longest serving prime minister since the country gained independence, having served a grand total of 5,088 days until November 23rd, 2013.

Kokhir Rasulzoda (Incumbent)

Kokhir Rasulzoda was born on March 8th, 1961 in the city of Ghafurov in the Ghafurov District in the northern area of the country. He graduated from the Agricultural University of Tajikistan in the city of Dushanbe. He is the incumbent prime minister and the second consecutive to be a member of the People's Democratic Party of Tajikistan. He took office as prime minister on November 23rd, 2012 and was previously the head of Sughd Province.

The duties of the prime minister of Tajikistan:

The prime minister's main duty is to be the leader of the government in the Supreme Assembly (Tajik parliament) and to coordinate the work of the Cabinet. The prime minister is appointed by the president, without the approval of the Supreme Assembly, and helps to assist and advise him with the execution of the various functions of the government. Since in Tajikistan the president is both the head of state and head of government, the position of prime minister is mostly a ceremonial position that helps to balance the geographical divide of the country. This is due to the fact that long time President Emomali Rahmon is from the city of Kulob in the southern part of the country.

Prime Ministers of the Republic of TajikistanTerm in Office
Izatullo Khayoyev
Akbar Mirzoyev
January to September of 1992
Abdumalik Abdullajanov
Abdujalil Samadov
Jamshed Karimov
Yahyo Azimov
Oqil Oqilov
Kokhir Rasulzoda (Incumbent)2013-Present

More in Politics