Presidents Of Madagascar

Since gaining independence from France, these Presidents have acted as Madagascar's Heads of State.

Since gaining independence from France, the President of Madagascar has acted as the country's Head of State. In 1958, Madagascar’s citizens voted to become an autonomous republic in the new French Republic. The country adopted a constitution in the same year which was amended in 1960, giving the country a presidential type of government. The first President, Philibert Tsiranana headed the provincial government until 1972, when he, faced with protests and riots, handed over power to General Gabriel Ramananstoa. Since then, Madagascar has adopted three new constitutions, in 1975, 1992, and more recently in 2010. Madagascar’s President is Chief of the armed forces and enforces foreign policies. Elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term, the president can dissolve the National Assembly devoid of prior consultation.

Tsiranana Philibert

Tsiranana was born on October 18, 1912, at Ambarikorano, in the Sofia Region of Madagascar. After completing studies in regional schools, Tsiranana started teaching in his hometown and obtained a scholarship to France, working as a teaching assistant in the École Normale d’instituteurs in Montpellier, France. Tsiranana was consciously aware of the economic and social inequities between the coastal people and people from the highlands in his country. Upon his return to the country, he taught at the École Industrielle in Tananarive. His political career began with his election to represent his province in the Provincial Assembly, after which he was elected to the Representative Assembly of Madagascar and eventually to the French National Assembly. Tsiranana was appointed President of the Executive Council of Madagascar in 1958 and was elected by a college as the first President of the now Malagasy Republic in 1959. Tsiranana immediately used his position to negotiate independence from France, and Madagascar received that independence in 1960. During his tenure, Tsiranana pursued national unity, democracy, human rights, a fair judicial system and economic progress. He resorted to Socialism as a tool for economic development. Most of the economic plans did not however materialize and by 1971, protests and insurgency, due to the poor socioeconomic situation, had begun to take root. The now ailing Tsiranana handed over power to Gen. Gabriel Ramanantsoa in 1972.

Gabriel Ramanantsoa

Succeeding Tsiranana, Gabriel Ramanantsoa served as Madagascar’s President and Prime Minister from 1972 until 1975. A Merina by ethnicity, Gabriel was born on April 13, 1906, in Antananarivo, Madagascar and served in the French Army as a career officer. He served in the Madagascar military after the country’s independence, rising through the ranks to become a Major General. His political career began with his appointment as Prime Minister in 1972, and he would end up assuming the President position on October 11th of the same year. Gabriel embarked on a mission to reduce France’s influence in the country, treating French citizens as aliens and establishing relations with the Soviet Union. He broke off ties with South Africa and nationalized organizations jointly owned by the French. After he was spared of an attempted coup on December 31, 1974, he handed over power to Colonel Richard Ratsimandrava in the face of protests due to poor economic situations.

Gilles Andriamahazo

Gilles Andriamahazo succeeded the third president of Madagascar, Richard Ratsmimandrava, following his assassination after only six days in office. Gilles was born on May 13, 1919, in Fort Dauphin, Anosy Region. He mainly pursued a military career, serving in the French Army through World War II and the French military campaign against Algerian nationalists during the 1950s. Before his taking office, Gilles served as the military president of Madagascar. Although his time in office was limited, his input was significant in preventing civil war after President Richard’s assassination. He resigned from his position for Didier Ratsiraka and served from February 12 to June 15, 1975.

Didier Ratsiraka

Didier Ratsiraka was born on November 4, 1933, in Vatomandry in the Atsinanana Region of Madagascar. Didier pursued a military career, achieving a governmental scholarship to study at the Naval Academy in Brest in western France. He served as minister of foreign affairs after his return to Madagascar, gaining popularity after he led negotiations to reestablish Madagascar as a French Protectorate. Military leadership established him as head of state in 1975, after which he implemented a Malagasy socialist system to address economic shortcomings. After his socialist policies had failed, he resorted to implementing economic plans by the International Monetary Fund. Didier was reelected in 1982 and 1989, but by 1991 his regime faced intense opposition. He was voted out of office in 1993 and reelected again in 1997 after a self-imposed exile. Didier lost the election in 2002 to Marc Ravalomanana.

Other Presidents of Madagascar

Madagascar’s other presidents include Richard Ratsimandrava who served in February of 1975, Albert Zafy (1993-1996), Norbert Ratsirahonana (1996-1997), Marc Ravalomanana (2002-2009), Andry Rajoelina (2009-2014), and Hery Rajaonarimampianina (2014-present). The political landscape in Madagascar has had its fair share of upheavals. Throughout history, Madagascar’s presidents have faced similar challenges, from poor socioeconomic situations, opposition and attempted coups and impeachment.

Presidents Of Madagascar

Presidents of MadagascarTerm(s) in Office
Philibert Tsiranana
Gabriel Ramanantsoa
Richard Ratsimandrava
February of 1975
Gilles Andriamahazo
February to June of 1975
Didier Ratsiraka
1975-1993; 1997-2002
Albert Zafy
Norbert Ratsirahonana
Marc Ravalomanana
Andry Rajoelina
Hery Rajaonarimampianina (Incumbent)2014-Present

More in Politics