Kings And Queens Of Denmark Since 1848

Queen Margrethe II and her consort, Prince Henrik, in 2010.
Queen Margrethe II and her consort, Prince Henrik, in 2010.

Denmark is a Scandinavian country located in Europe and is bordered by Germany, Sweden, and Norway. The Kingdom of Denmark is also a sovereign state that encompasses both Denmark and two other independent constituent countries namely Greenland and the Faroe Islands. The history of the Kingdom of Denmark dates back to the 8th century, during the 10th century Denmark was a unified Kingdom which was best known for being an adept seafaring nation during the battle for domination of the Baltic Sea. The Kalmar Union was established in 1397 where Sweden, Denmark, and Germany were ruled together. Later in 1523 the union ended due to the Swedish secession leaving Denmark and Germany under the same monarch. The Danish monarchy is constitutional and the Crown is not allowed to independently perform any other political duties not expressed in the Constitution of Denmark. Executive powers over the government of Denmark pass through monarch's royal reserve. The monarch is Denmark's representative on the diplomatic and official levels including state ceremonies. Frederick VII saw Denmark transfer from an absolute monarchy to a constitutional monarchy in 1848.

Kings And Queens Of Denmark Since 1848

Frederick VII (1848-1863)

Frederick VII was born on October 6th, 1808 in Copenhagen and was the last Danish monarch from the old royal branch to assume the throne and also to rule as monarch with independent governance. During the reign of King Frederick, he signed a constitution that stripped the monarch of its absolute governance over Denmark and gave way to the establishment of a constitutional monarchy. Frederick VII ruled between 1848 and1863 and was the most beloved among the Kings of Denmark.

Christian X (1912-1947)

Christian X was born on September 26th, 1870 in Charlottenlund Palace, and he was King of Denmark between 1912 and 1947 and the only King of Iceland between 1918 and 1944. King Christian X was a member of the House of Glücksburg and the first member of his family since King Frederick VII to have been born into the Danish royal family since his father and grandfather were of the German Ducal bloodline. King Christian X was a strict character with an authoritarian personality who advocated for royal dignity and power. Christian was also a stubborn figure as his reluctance to embrace democracy led to the Easter Crisis in 1920. In spite of his stubbornness he vehemently resisted the German occupation of Denmark during World War II.

Frederick IX (1947-1972)

Frederick IX was born on March 11th, 1899 in Sorgenfri Palace from the House of Glücksburg and the eldest son of King Christian X. Frederick IX got his education from Royal Danish Naval Academy and during the German Occupation in Denmark he was acting regent on behalf of his father the King between 1942 and 1943. Frederick assumed the throne upon his father's death in early 1947. During his reign as King, the Danish society got rid of the restrictions of an agrarian society and saw the entrance of women into the labor market in the 1960's due to an economic boom caused by the Danish developed the state. King Frederick IX also saw the modernization of Denmark which brought with it demands on the monarch. In 1972 King Frederick IX died having served between 1947 and 1972 and was succeeded by his daughter the incumbent Queen Margrethe II.

Margrethe II (1972-Present)

Margrethe II was born on April 16th, 1940 at Amalienborg Palace, Copenhagen, Denmark, and she is the incumbent Queen of Denmark, the Commander-in-Chief of the Danish Defence and the supreme authority of the Church of Denmark. Margrethe II was also born from the House of Glücksburg and the eldest child of King Frederick IX. Margrethe became heir apparent to the throne in 1953 when the Danish constitution was amended to allow women to inherit the throne. Margrethe ascended the throne following her father's death in 1972 becoming the first female Danish monarch since Margret I who ruled the Scandinavian countries during the Kalmer Union. Margrethe has been the second longest Danish monarch on the throne.

Other Kings Of Denmark

Since 1848 Denmark has had five Kings and one Queen who is the incumbent monarch of Denmark Queen Margrethe II. The previous Kings of Denmark include the three aforementioned and. King Christian IX who reigned between 1863 and 1906 and King Frederick VIII who reigned between 1906 and 1912. At present, the heir apparent to the Danish throne is Crown Prince Frederick, the eldest son of Queen Margrethe.

Kings And Queens Of Denmark Since 1848

Danish Monarchs Since 1848Reign
Frederick VII
Christian IX
Frederick VIII
Christian X
Frederick IX
Margrethe II (Incumbent)1972-Present

More in Society