Japan's Three Holy Mountains

Japan's Three Holy Mountains are Mt. Haku, Mt. Tateyama, and Mt. Fuji.


The mountains Mt. Haku, Mt. Tateyama, and Mt. Fuji are Japan's three holy mountains. The three mountains were the sacred places that the mountain creed used for worship. People believe that the force from these mountains is the source of life. The magnificent existence of the mountains is overwhelming to human beings due to their immensity. Each of the three mountains is believed to have a particular power. Mount Fuji has volcanic power, Mount Haku, the power of water and Mount Tateyama, the power of the spirits of the dead. Also, the mountains somewhat have religious associations with them, hence called the holy mountains.The following description highlights the features and other details of the three mountains.

3. Mt. Haku

The location of this mountain is the Gifu and Ishikawa Prefectures. It is 2702 meters high by it tallest peak, Gozengamine, and its routes from the base are longer than those of Mount Fuji which starts from its halfway point. The mountain is also the perfect hiking place during summer though autumn could also be the best season to climb the mountain since one can see the red leaves on the mountain. Mount Haku is famous for snowboarding and skiing as well as its white appearance due to its snow coverage. The main peaks of the mountain are Gozengamine, Kengamine, and Ōnanjimine, while Mount Sannomine and Bessan are sometimes included to make the number of peaks to be five. Besides, there are several lakes close to Mount Haku's summit that is why the mountain is said to have the power of water.

2. Mt. Tateyama

Mount Tateyama is among the tallest peaks of the Hida Mountains. It is located in the southeastern region of the Toyama Prefecture. The main components of the mountain are gneiss and granite. It is 3,015 meters high by its tallest peak, Ōnanjiyama. The mountain's other peaks are Oyama and Fuji-no-Oritateyama; therefore, it does not exist as one peak. The best hiking season for Mount Tateyama is from April to November. Climbing to the mountain's top is a simulation of the hell paradise experience according to the local beliefs. The associated paradise experience has made the mountain the source of spiritual power of the dead. Besides, the mountain is a source of two rivers, Hayatsuki River and Tsurugisawa which both flow to the Sea of Japan. Interestingly, it is possible to see Mount Fuji from the summit of this mountain.

1. Mt. Fuji

Mount Fuji is the Japan's most famous and highest mountain (3,776.24 meters high) that attracts a lot of tourists in summer. Its location is Honshu Island, approximately a hundred kilometers to the south-west of Tokyo. Moreover, Mount Fuji has an exceptional symmetric cone shape which is a famous symbol in Japan that most photographs and arts in the region depict. The mountain also has snow covering at its top for around five months yearly. Also, Mount Fuji is a volcano mountain and last erupted on December 16, 1707. Mount Fuji, being the tallest mountain in Japan, is the tallest among the three holy mountains.


More in Society