Country Capitals That Start With M

Madrid, the capital and largest city of Spain.

The United Nations (UN) recognizes 195 countries or sovereign states, which includes 193 member states and 2 observer states. Of this total, 19 countries have capitals with names that start with the letter "M." These capitals are located all over the world, except for Antarctica, which is uninhabited. In Europe, for example, capital cities that start with the letter "M" include Madrid (Spain) and Moscow (Russia). In Africa, capitals include Mogadishu (Somalia) and Malabo (Equatorial Guinea).

Examples of Capitals That Start with the Letter M

Madrid (Spain)

Madrid is Spain's capital and the country’s largest city. It has an area of about 233.33 square miles and a population of roughly 3.2 million people. Additionally, Madrid's metropolitan area has a population of approximately 6.5 million people. In terms of European cities, only London, Moscow, and Berlin are bigger than Madrid. Founded in the 9th century, the city is also the seat of the nation’s government and the official residence of Spain's monarch.

Moscow (Russia)

Moscow is Russia’s capital and the country’s most populated city. The city has an area of about 970 square miles, which makes it the largest city in Europe. Moscow has a population of about 13.2 million people, while its metropolitan area has a larger population of approximately 17 million. In addition to being the largest city in Russia, Moscow also serves as a major hub in Eastern Europe in terms of politics, economics, and culture.

Mbabane (Eswatini)

Located in Africa, Mbabane is the capital of the Kingdom of Eswatini, which was previously known as Swaziland. Founded in 1902, the city has an area of about 31.57 square miles and a population of 94,874 people. The city is also the capital of the Hhohho Region. Mbabane serves as a commercial hub of its region, and sugar exports and tourism are the main drivers of its economy.

Mexico City (Mexico)

Also known as the City of Mexico or CDMX, Mexico City is the capital of Mexico. Situated in the Valley of Mexico, the city has an area of roughly 573 square miles and a population of about 8.84 million people, making it the most populated city in both Mexico and North America. Founded in 1325, the city is the oldest capital located in the Americas. Mexico City is the country’s major economic hub.

Muscat (Oman)

Muscat is Oman’s capital and the country's largest city. It has an area of about 105.8 square miles and a population of approximately 1.6 million people. The metropolitan area is very large, covering an area of more than 1,400 square miles. The city is Oman's major trade hub and a significant exporter of products that include dates and fish. Petroleum is also a major driver of the economy.

Capitals of City-States

Monaco is a unique inclusion on the list of capitals that start with the letter "M." The Principality of Monaco is classified as a city-state, which means that the single city also constitutes a sovereign state. Therefore, Monaco is considered both a city and country. The city has a small area of only 0.85 square miles and a population of approximately 38,400 people. In terms of area, Vatican City, which is also a city-state, is the only country in the world that is smaller.

List of Country Capitals That Start with the Letter M

RankCapital CityCountry
2Majuro Marshall Islands
3MalaboEquatorial Guinea
6Manama Bahrain
8Maseru Lesotho
11Mexico CityMexico

More in World Facts