The Seven Wonders of Monaco

Monte Carlo, Monaco.
Monte Carlo, Monaco.

Monaco is a microstate and a sovereign city-state located in the Western Europe. It covers an area of 0.78 square miles and has a population of 38,500 people according to the 2015 census. Monaco is the second smallest country in the world, after Vatican City. The country has the lowest poverty rate in the world and the highest amount of millionaires per capita. Tourism is the main source of income in Monaco with the majority of the foreigners attracted to the casino and the pleasant climate. The majority of tourists visiting the country are drawn from Europe and South America.

The Wonders of Monaco

Oceanographic Museum

Oceanographic Museum is a marine science museum in Monaco-Villa. The building housing the Oceanographic Museum is part of the Oceanographic Institute which is committed to sharing its information about the ocean. The museum was unveiled in 1910 and has an impressive façade above the sea which towers to a height of 279 feet. Oceanographic Museum houses exhibitions and various collections of sea animals and sea related objects such as a model ship, weapons, and tools. The aquarium at the basement of the building has a wide variety of flora and fauna including 4,000 species of fish and several invertebrates. Oceanographic Museum is home to Mediterranean Science Commission.

Prince's Palace

The Prince's Palace was built in 1191 as a Genoese fortress, but it is currently the prince’s official residence. It is a blend of architectural style with its origin indicating a lack of symmetry. The Prince's Palace has many rooms, but the most notable of the rooms is the state apartments which were laid out in the 16th century. The palace has been a home of the Grimaldi family who captured it in the 13th century. The Prince's Palace is one of the most unusual in Europe because of its fortification. The state rooms of the palace are open to the public during summer.

Monte Carlo Casino

Monte Carlo Casino is a famous entertainment building which includes a casino and a theater. The Monte Carlo Casino is owned and operated by a public company with the Government of Monaco and the ruling class being the majority shareholders. The casino was moved several times before its location in the present Les Spelugues area. The construction of the site began in 1858 and was completed in 1862. Games such as stud poker, Blackjack, video poker, and slot machines are some of the games that can be played at Monte Carlo Casino. Interestingly, Monaco’s citizens are not allowed to enter the gambling room of the Casino.

Opera de Monte-Carlo

Opera de Monte-Carlo is a cultural hall which is part of the Monte Carlo Casino. The opera house was designed by Charles Garnier and opened its doors in 1879 as Salle Garnier. The design of the Opera de Monte-Carlo was influenced by Palais Garnier in Paris which was also designed by Charles Garnier. Opera de Monte-Carlo was not originally intended for opera but was frequently used for that purpose leading to its remodeling in 1898 to make it suitable for opera. Opera de Monte-Carlo has hosted 45 world premiere production of operas since its inauguration.

The Pride of Monaco

Monaco is divided into four main areas; Business and recreation, the old city, port quarter, and recreation and light industry. The four areas house the seven wonders of Monaco forming major tourist destination in the country. The wonders of Monaco are not just tourist attractions but also house rich history this microstate. The wonders of Monaco make the country alive both day and night offering tourists a variety to pick.

The Seven Wonders of Monaco

RankWonder Name
1Oceanographic Museum
2Prince's Palace
3Monte Carlo Casion
4Opera de Monte-Carlo
5Rock of Monaco
6Monaco Cathedral
7La Condamine

More in Travel