Countries With The Highest Number Of Test Cricket Grounds

India has the highest number (28) of test cricket grounds in the world.

Test cricket is the longest form of cricket possible and is also regarded by cricket fanatics and players as the ultimate test of a team's playing ability. Test matches are only played between cricket teams representing their countries at national level. The first official Test match was held in Melbourne in the state of Victoria, Australia. The match was held in March 1877 between Australia and London. The Sofia Gardens located in Cardiff Wales became the 100th venue for test cricket on July 8, 2009. Below are some of the countries with the highest number of test cricket grounds.

1. India (28)

With 28, India has the highest number of test cricket grounds in the world and has hosted 261 Test matches. The Bombay Gymkhana located in South Mumbai, Maharashtra, India is known as the ground that hosted India’s first Test cricket match on December 15, 1933. C.K. Nayudu was the captain during the match. The Gymkhana Grounds used to be the main ground for the Bombay, Pentangular cricket matches; it now hosts cricket games during winter. The ground has six tennis courts, three badminton courts, a fitness center, six tables for billiards and snooker, five squash courts, and a swimming pool.

2. Pakistan (16)

Pakistan is the second country with the highest number cricket grounds; the country has 16 grounds and has hosted 144 Test matches. Pakistan's first Test match was played on January 15, 1955, at the Bahawal Stadium. The ground which is locally known as Dring Stadium is situated in Bahawalpur, Punjab, Pakistan and has a capacity of about 15,000 people. The multi-purpose stadium is mainly used for Cricket matches and is ranked as the second largest stadium in Asia by area.

3. South Africa (11)

With 11 grounds for Test cricket, South Africa is the third country with the highest number of cricket grounds. St. George's Park, currently known as Axxess DSL St. Georges was the location of South Africa's first Test match played on March 12, 1889.The country has hosted about 220 Test matches. The ground which is located in St George's Park, Port Elizabeth, South Africa is home to one of the oldest cricket clubs in the country known as Port Elizabeth Cricket Club. The ground is also home to the Eastern Province Club. St George's Park Cricket Ground hosts One Day International, and Test matches played in the country.One of the ground's notable attractions includes the grass band which plays during big matches. Since 2005, South Africa has hosted 21 Test matches on this ground winning eight games, losing nine and achieving four draws.

Test Cricket Grounds In Other Test Cricket Playing Countries

There are a many countries that take part in test cricket matches as the sport continues to become more popular worldwide. To take part in a sport means the country must be ready to facilitate the players with the necessary equipment and stadium for practice. The game of cricket is mostly played in Asian and European countries, but the sport continues to be introduced to the rest of the world. Other countries with high numbers of test cricket grounds include Australia and England both with nine grounds, New Zealand and Sri Lanka with 8, Bangladesh with 7, Zimbabwe and the UAE with 3, Guyana, Antigua and Barbuda with 2 and nine other countries with one ground each.

Which Country Has the Most Test Cricket Grounds?

With 28 test cricket grounds, India has the highest number of test cricket grounds in the world and has hosted 261 Test matches.

Countries With The Highest Number Of Test Cricket Grounds

RankCountryNo. of groundsLocation of first matchDate of first matchNo. of Tests
1India28Bombay Gymkhana Ground15 December 1933261
2Pakistan16Bahawal Stadium15 January 1955144*
3South Africa11St. George's Park (now Axxess DSL St. Georges)12 March 1889220
4Australia9Melbourne Cricket Ground15 March 1877411
5England9The Oval Cricket Ground6 September 1880501
6New Zealand8Lancaster Park (now AMI Stadium)10 January 1930204
7Sri Lanka8Paikiasothy Saravanamuttu Stadium17 February 1982131
8Bangladesh7Bangabandhu National Stadium1 January 195561*
9Zimbabwe3Harare Sports Club18 October 199256
10United Arab Emirates3Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium31 January 200228
11Guyana2Bourda21 February 193032
12Antigua and Barbuda2Antigua Recreation Ground27 March 198128
13Barbados1Kensington Oval11 January 193051
14Trinidad and Tobago1Queen's Park Oval1 February 193060
15Jamaica1Sabina Park3 April 193049
16Saint Vincent and the Grenadines1The Playing Fields20 June 19973
17Grenada1National Cricket Stadium28 June 20023
18Saint Lucia1Beausejour Stadium20 June 20035
19Saint Kitts and Nevis1Warner Park22 June 20063
20Wales1SWALEC Stadium (Sophia Gardens)8 July 20093
21Dominica1Windsor Park7 June 20114


Your MLA Citation

Your APA Citation

Your Chicago Citation

Your Harvard Citation

Remember to italicize the title of this article in your Harvard citation.