World Facts

Countries With Red, White and Blue Flags

Twenty-eight countries have red, white and blue flags.

Every political entity, such as a state or territory, has some kind of symbol that unites and represents its people. These symbols can include the likes of flags, coats of arms, national animals, and birds. A flag is distinctive in its use of symbols, colours, and design. Some flags feature a color combination of red, white, and blue. Examples of territories with such colors include the British Overseas Territory of Bermuda, the British Overseas Territory of Anguilla, the US state of Arkansas, and the British Virgin Islands. The same color combination is also featured on numerous national flags.

Countries with Red, White, and Blue Flags

In addition to the territories above, numerous countries around the world have flags that use the red, white, and blue color combination. A total of twenty-eight countries use those three colors, including the United Kingdom, United States, New Zealand, North Korea, the Dominican Republic, the Czech Republic, and Costa Rica.

The United Kingdom (UK)

The national flag of the United Kingdom is known as the Union Jack or the Union Flag. The flag's current design dates back to January 1, 1801, and consists of a combination of three crosses: the red Cross of Saint George; the red diagonal Cross of Saint Patrick; and the white diagonal Cross of Saint Andrew, which has a blue background. At the time of its design, which occurred during the union of Ireland and Great Britain, these three symbols represented the three nations, namely England, Ireland, and Scotland. Wales was still part of the Kingdom of England at that time.

The United States (US)

The United States flag features a unique design of thirteen horizontal stripes of equal size, alternating between red and white, starting with red at the top. The canton bears a blue rectangle known as the union. The union contains fifty small white stars representing each US state, while the stripes represent the thirteen colonies that gained independence from Britain. These thirteen states later became the first US states. Other unofficial names for the flag include the Stars and Stripes, Old Glory, and the Star-Spangled Banner.

North Korea

Also called the Ramhongsaek Konghwagukgi, the flag of North Korea is a simple design bearing a thick red horizontal band at the center with smaller blue bands bordering it on the top and bottom. The red band is also edged with thin white strips, and a red star with five points set upon a white circle is featured on the center band. Due to North Korea's current political situation, the flag cannot be flown in South Korea.

Common Themes

There are often common themes or symbolisms associated with the use of red, white and blue on a flag. For most countries that use these colors, white represents peace and unity, while blue stands for qualities like bravery, justice, loyalty, and perseverance. Red is usually the symbol of a struggle that a country had to endure. In some cases, these colors can have unique meanings. For example, in the case of North Korea, the red color is used to symbolize resentment of its past occupation by Japan.

Countries With Red, White and Blue Flags

Rank´╗┐Countries With Red, White and Blue Flags
4Costa Rica
7Czech Republic
8Dominican Republic
17New Zealand
18North Korea
27United Kingdom
28United States

More in World Facts