World Facts

Countries That Start With The Letter V

There are 4 countries that start with the letter V.

A country is a political division or a nation having its own government and occupying a certain region. There are about 194 countries in the world today excluding dependent overseas territories and countries not recognized by the UN. Most of the state names are from a famous historical person, a natural feature of the land, the geographical location of the country, or an ethnic group present in the region. There are four countries with names that start with the letter V.

Countries that Start with the Letter V


Vanuatu is one of the nations of the Pacific Islands located in the South of the Pacific Ocean. The country consists of a volcanic group of islands covering a total area of 4,706 square miles. Vanuatu gets its name from the two words, Vanua, and tu. In Austronesian languages, Vanua means land and tu means to stand, and the name portrayed the country’s independent status. According to a census carried out in 2016, the population was 272,459. The capital of Vanuatu is Port Villa, and the main economic activities are agriculture, cattle rearing, and tourism.

Vatican City

Vatican City, or Vatican City State, is situated within Rome. The country covers an area of 0.17 square miles and has an estimated population of about 1,000 people. The Vatican is named after Vatican Hill, the place where the city is located. Vatica or Vaticum means garden and the name Vatican was derived from an Etruscan settlement named Vatican territory by the Romans. The country has several tourist attraction sites like St. Peter’s Basilica, the Vatican Museum, and Sistine Chapel.


The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela is found in the Northern part of South America. The country is a federal republic made up of 23 states with a total area of 353,841 square miles. Venezuela also has several federal dependencies which are islands located in the Caribbean Sea. The population was estimated at 31,568,179 in 2016. The capital city of the country is Caracas and the federation is made up of 23 states. Venezuela also includes several island dependencies.


The Socialist Republic of Vietnam is situated in Southeast Asia. The country covers an area of 127,888.9 square miles, and the population was estimated at 94.6 million in 2016. Vietnam is derived from Niam Viet in Chinese which means southern Viet. Viet is short for Bach Viet, who were a group of people living in Vietnam and Southern China. The capital of Vietnam is Hanoi. The country was known as Annam until 1945 when it was renamed Vietnam.

Alphabet and Countries

Most of the letters of the Alphabet can be found at the beginning of the names of countries except for letter X which can only be found at the beginning of the names of cities. Letters C, B, and S start the names of several countries While O, Q, and Y begin the name of one country each.

Countries That Start With The Letter V

RankCountries That Start With The Letter V
2Vatican City

More in World Facts