1. World Map/
  2. South America/
  3. Argentina/
  4. Argentina Geography

Argentina Geography

The geography of Argentina include 5 major regions, starting with the rain forest areas of the far-northeast along its border with Brazil; the swampy and flat Chaco plain; the fertile (almost treeless) grasslands of the central Pampas; the lengthy plateau of Patagonia that stretches to Tierra del Fuego, and the Andes Mountains along its western border with Chile.

The Andes MountainsThe Pampas, one of the largest fertile plains in the world, covers almost one third of Argentina's land area. Bordered by mountains and the Atlantic Ocean, the legendary landscape of Patagonia displays huge forests, sizeable mountains valleys, and many cold-water lakes.

The Andes in Argentina contain advancing glaciers including the Perito Moreno glacier, as well as Cerro Aconcagua, the tallest mountain in South America.

Argentina is also home to impressive Iguazu Falls, and over 250 additional waterfalls of size.

Major rivers include the Colorado, Negro, Paraguay, Parana, Salado and Uruguay. The Uruguay and Parana flow together before meeting the Atlantic Ocean, forming the basin of the Rio de la Plata.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries Of South America

This page was last updated on September 29, 2015.