1. World Map/
  2. South America/
  3. Argentina/
  4. Argentina Fast Facts

Argentina Facts

  • Name: Argentina
  • (long form) Argentine Republic
  • Capital City: Buenos Aires (2,891,082 pop.)
    (13,356,715 metro)
  • Argentina Population: 42,610,981 (2013 est.)
  • World Populations (all countries)
  • Currency: Argentina Peso (ARS)
    (conversion rates)

    Argentina Peso
    One Argentinean Peso
  • Ethnicity: White (mostly Spanish and Italian) 97%, Mestizo (mixed white and Amerindian ancestry), Amerindian, or other non-white groups 3%
  • GDP total: $755.3 billion (2012 est)
  • GDP per capita: $18,400 (2012 est)
  • Land Sizes
  • Language: Spanish (official), Italian, English, German, French
  • Largest Cities: (by population) Buenos Aires, Cordoba, Rosario, Mendoza, La Plata, Tucuman, Mar del Plata
  • Name: Argentina is derived from the Latin "argentum" meaning "silver".
  • National Day: May 25
  • Religion: Roman Catholic 92%, Protestant 2%, Jewish 2%, other 4%
  • Symbols

Argentina Trivia

What is the Largest Religious Group in Argentina?

Argentina is a predominantly Roman Catholic Christian nation, although daily life for most citizens is very secular.

Religious Beliefs In Argentina

What Kind of Government Does Argentina Have?

Argentina is a presidential democratic republic where the President is the Head of State and the Head of Government, and the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces. The government operates in three branches, the executive, the legislature, and the judiciary.

What Type Of Government Does Argentina Have?

What Languages Are Spoken in Argentina?

Spanish is the most spoken language in Argentina. Argentina is the fourth most populous Spanish-speaking nation in the world after Mexico, Spain, and Colombia. Italian ranks second among the languages spoken in Argentina.

What Languages Are Spoken In Argentina?

What is the Biggest City in Argentina?

Buenos Aires, the capital of Argentina, is also its largest city hosting a population of 2,776,138 people.

The Biggest Cities In Argentina

What is the Capital of Argentina?

The capital of Argentina is Buenos Aires, which is located along the southeastern shore of South America, along the Río de la Plata. This city has a population size of 3.89 million and a metropolitan population of around 17 million, making it the largest in the country and fourth largest in the western hemisphere.

What Is The Capital of Argentina?

What Does the Flag of Argentina Mean?

The current flag of Argentina was officially adopted on February 12, 1812. The light blue stripes upon a white field were placed on the flag by Manuel Belgrano, the leader of the revolution, and are said to be symbolic of the sky above, when the fight for the country's independence began. The golden sun, with the Sun of May face, was added to the flag in 1818.

Flag of Argentina

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries Of South America

This page was last updated on September 29, 2015.