1. Home
  2. North America
  3. Aruba

Aruba Facts

Map of Aruba caribbean sea large aruba map caribbean sea
Locator Map of Aruba bahamas florida gulf of mexico mexico jamaica dominican republic st. vincent and the grenadines grenada central america atlantic ocean atlantic ocean usa honduras nicaragua panama caribbean sea pacific ocean puerto rico south america trinidad and tobago colombia barbados

Aruba's Information

Flag of Aruba
Land Area 180 km2
Water Area 0 km2
Total Area 180 km2
Population 113,648
Population Density 631.38 / km2
Government Type Parliamentary Democracy (Legislature); Part Of The Kingdom Of The Netherlands
GDP (PPP) $2.52 Billion
GDP Per Capita $25,300
Currency Guilder (AWG)
Largest Cities
  • Babijn (40,627)
  • Oranjestad (29,998)
  • Angochi (29,442)
  • Name: Aruba, an autonomous member of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
  • Capital City: Oranjestad (33,000 pop.)
  • Aruba Population: 109,153 (2013 est.)
  • World Populations (all countries)
  • Currency: Aruban Guilder / Florin
    (conversion rates)

    Aruban Guilder
    25 Aruban Guilders
  • Ethnicity: mixed white/Caribbean Amerindian 80%, other 20%
  • GDP total: $2.516 billion (2012 est.)
  • GDP per capita: $25,300 (2012 est.)
  • Land Sizes
  • Language: Papiamento (a Spanish-Portuguese-Dutch-English dialect) 66.3%, Spanish 12.6%, English (widely spoken) 7.7%, Dutch (official) 5.8%, other 2.2%, unspecified or unknown 5.3%
  • Largest Cities: (by population) Babijn, Oranjestad, Angochi, Arasji
  • Name: It is widely suggested that Aruba's name comes from the Spanish phrase "oro huba" which means "there was gold." However, it's also possible that it is derived from two Carib Indian words "ora" and "oubao" which mean "shell" and "island" respectively.
  • National Day: March 18
  • Religion: Roman Catholic 80.8%, Evangelist 4.1%, Protestant 2.5%, Jehovah's Witnesses 1.5%, Methodist 1.2%, Jewish 0.2%, other 5.1%, none or unspecified 4.6%
  • Symbols

Latest by WorldAtlas