1. Home
  2. Europe
  3. Luxembourg

Luxembourg History Timeline

Map of Luxembourg
Locator Map of Luxembourg Oceans of the World Oceans of the World Map of the Denmark Strait Greenland Map Strait of Gibraltar European Map Asian Map Kazakhstan Turkey Map and Information European Russia Map of the Equator Map of the Equator Polar Caps Map Italy Mediterranean Sea Information Custom Maps Africa Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Middle Eastern Map Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East Map of the Middle East African Map African Map African Map African Map Norwegian Sea Map North Sea Map Baltic Sea Information Barents Sea Information Kara Sea Information English Channel Map and Information Bay of Biscay Black Sea Caspian Sea Greenland Sea Map Red Sea Map

Luxembourg's Information

Flag of Luxembourg
Land Area 2,586 km2
Water Area 0 km2
Total Area 2,586 km2
Population 582,291
Population Density 225.17 / km2
Government Type Constitutional Monarchy
GDP (PPP) $58.74 Billion
GDP Per Capita $102,000
Currency Euro (EUR)
Largest Cities
  • Luxembourg (76,684)
  • Esch-sur-Alzette (28,228)
  • Dudelange (18,013)
900's - 1500's
  • (963) Luxembourg founded, Belgium area became part of the United Provinces of the Netherlands
  • (1346) Charles IV of Luxembourg elected emperor of the Holy Roman Empire
  • (1347) Charles IV of the House of Luxembourg crowned King of Bohemia
  • (1477) Seventeen provinces, a union of states in the low countries, became the property of the Habsburgs, included Luxembourg
  • (1582) Gregorian (New World) calendar adopted in Luxembourg
1600's - 1800's
  • (1618-1648) Thirty Years War
  • (1635) Entry of France into Thirty Years War turned Luxembourg into a battleground
  • (1684-1697) French ruled Luxembourg
  • (1697) Treaty of Ryswick returned Luxembourg to Spanish rule
  • (1795-1814) French ruled Luxembourg
  • (1840) Willem II became King of The Netherlands, Grand Duke of Luxembourg
  • (1859) First Luxembourg railroad opened
  • (1867) Luxembourg gained independence
  • (1890) Grand Duchy of Luxembourg separated from The Netherlands
  • (1914-1918) World War I; Luxembourg under German occupation
  • (1920) Luxembourg joined League of Nations; Belgian-Luxembourg toll tunnel opened
  • (1921) Luxembourg entered economic union with Belgium; the use of Belgium currency in Luxembourg permitted
  • (1940-1944) Luxembourg occupied by Germany during most of World War II
  • (1944-1945) Battle of the Bulge; American army under Patton drove Germans out of Luxembourg
  • (1947) Customs and monetary union with Belgium renewed
  • (1948) Luxembourg formed economic union with Belgium and The Netherlands
  • (1949) Luxembourg joined NATO
  • (1957) Treaty of Rome; Luxembourg became one of six founding members of European Economic Community (EEC)
  • (1959-1974) Pierre Werner served as prime minister
  • (1964) Grand Duchess Charlotte abdicated in favor of her eldest son, Grand Duke Jean
  • (1974) Christian Social party failed to win elections; new government coalition formed between the Democrats and the Socialists
  • (1979) Christian social party regained power; Luxembourg entered period of economic recession; Pierre Werner served second term as prime minister
  • (1984-1995) Jacques Santer became prime minister
  • (1992) Luxembourg adopted Maastricht Treaty which created the European Union
  • (1995) Jean-Claude Juncker became prime minister; Jacques Santer appointed president of the European Commission
  • (1999) Luxembourg, along with 10 other European Union states, made transition to the new Euro monetary system; Jean-Claude Juncker re-elected prime minister
  • (2000) Crown Prince Henri became Grand Duke of Luxembourg on the abdication of his father, Jean
  • (2002) Euro introduced as national currency
  • (2005) Luxembourg Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker, asked citizens to pass referendum in favor of the EU Constitution; Luxembourg voters ratified the EU's proposed constitution referendum
  • (2008) Governments of Belgium, The Netherlands and Luxembourg took partial control of struggling bank Fortis NV; Grand Duke Henri's threat to block a bill legalizing euthanasia sparked a constitutional arrangement
  • (2009) Luxembourg was added to a "grey list" of countries with questionable banking arrangements; Luxembourg commended by OECD for signing agreements on the exchange of tax information with a dozen countries
  • (2010) 106 children from earthquake-ravaged Haiti airlifted to The Netherlands and Luxembourg to adoptive parents
  • (2011) Luxembourg, Belgium and France agreed to rescue plan for Dexia SA, the Franco-Belgian bank

Latest by WorldAtlas