1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. Singapore/
  4. Singapore Timeline

Singapore History Timeline

Singapore's Information

Flag of Singapore
Land Area 687 km2
Water Area 10 km2
Total Area 697km2 (#176)
Population 5,781,728 (#113)
Population Density 8,415.91/km2
Government Type Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $488.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $87,100
Currency Dollar (SGD)
Largest Cities
1300 - 1700
  • (1300) Port of Temasek (modern Singapore) was founded by Prince Sang Nila Utama of Srivijaya (Malay Empire)
  • (1414) Temasek became part of Sultanate of Malacca (Malaysia)
  • (1515)Malacca fell to the Portuguese and Temasek became part of Sultanate of Johor
  • (1613) Portuguese burned down trading outpost at mouth of Singapore River
  • (1819) Stamford Raffles and William Farquhar arrived in Singapore to establish trading post for British East India Company
  • (1819) Farquhar was installed as first resident of the settlement
  • (1822) Raffles Plan of Singapore drafted by Raffles to reorganize the island
  • (1826) Singapore, Malacca and Penang became part of British Colony of Straits Settlements under the rule of the East India Company
  • (1830) Singapore came under Presidency of Bengal
  • (1832) Singapore became the center of government of Straits Settlements
  • (1852) Keppel Harbour was established between the mainland and islands of Pulau Brani and Sentosa to help British colonists attempting to establish a maritime colony
  • (1858) Singapore came under Government of India's hierarchy, remained part of the Straits Settlements
  • (1867) Straits Settlements became crown colony of British Empire
  • (1869) Suez Canal opened, trade in Singapore boomed
  • (1877) Chinese Protectorate established, William Pickering became head
  • (1915) Singapore Mutiny occurred when British Muslim Indian soldiers revolted against British
  • (1923) Singapore began construction of main British naval base in East Asia
  • (1941)  Singapore is bombed by Japan.
  • (1942) Japan conquered Singapore, renamed it Syonan (Light of the South)
  • (1945) Japan surrendered, British returned and began military administration of Straits Settlements
  • (1946) Straits Settlements was dissolved; Singapore became separate crown colony
  • (1947) Food shortages led to rice rationing, which caused malnutrition, disease and outbreaks of crimes and violence
  • (1947) Strikes caused stoppages in public transportation, public services and the harbour
  • (1948) Communists destroyed rubber plantations, tin mines in Malaya; Britain declared state of emergency over Malaya and Singapore
  • (1948) Singapore held first limited elections with six seats on Legislative Council
  • (1951) In second election, number of seats increased to nine
  • (1954) Chinese students demonstrated against National Service proposal established by the British
  • (1955) Labor Front won majority of seats in election; David Saul Marshall became first Chief Minister of Singapore
  • (1955) Government began Central Provident Fund, a compulsory social security savings plan, requiring contributions from employees and employers
  • (1956) David Saul Marshall appealed to the United Kingdom for full self-government, request denied
  • (1956) David Saul Marshall resigned position, Lim Yew Hock took over as Chief Minister
  • (1956) Pro-communist Chinese students rioted when government closed a student union
  • (1959) Encik Yusof bin Ishak became Singapore's prime minister
  • (1959) Lim Yew Hock gained full self-government for Singapore
  • (1959) Lee Kuan Yew became first Prime Minister after People's Action Party (PAP) won general election
  • (1961) Fire broke out in squatter settlement of Bukit Ho Swee, four died, 85 injured, 16,000 homeless, 2,200 homes destroyed
  • (1963) The Federation of Malaysia Agreement signed between leaders of Malaya, Singapore, Sabah and Sarawak
This page was last updated on May 3, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia