1. World Map /
  2. Africa/
  3. Lesotho/
  4. Lesotho Timeline

Lesotho History Timeline

Lesotho's Information

Flag of Lesotho
Land Area 30,355 km2
Total Area 30,355km2 (#137)
Population 1,953,070 (#149)
Population Density 64.34/km2
Government Type Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy
GDP (PPP) $6.02 Billion
GDP Per Capita $3,100
Currency Loti (LSL)
More Information Lesotho
Largest Cities
  • (1822) Present-day Lesotho emerged as a single polity under King Moshoeshoe I and was called Basutoland
  • (1834) Decades of conflict initiated after a territorial encroachment by Boer trekkers
  • (1868) Basutoland is established as a British protectorate
  • (1870) The death of King Moshoeshoe signaled the end of the traditional era of Basutoland and the beginning of the colonial era
  • (1871) Basutoland was transferred to the Cape Colony
  • (1881) Conflicts triggered the 'Gun War' between Basotho chiefs and Cape Colony forces over the right for natives to bear arms
  • (1884) Basutoland's status was restored to that of a protectorate but remained under the direct rule of a governor with internal power being wielded by traditional chiefs
  • (1966) Basutoland gained independence and became the Kingdom of Lesotho; Moshoeshoe II is named king with Chief Leabua Jonathan as prime minister
  • (1970) Chief Jonathan suspended the constitution following election results in the oppositional favor and sent the king into temporary exile
  • (1986) Chief Jonathan deposed of in a coup and is replaced by Major-General Justin Lekhanya
  • (1990) King Moshoeshoe II is exiled and his son, Letsie III, is sworn in
  • (1991) Lekhanya is forced out by Colonel Elias Tutsoane Ramaema
  • (1992) Moshoeshoe II returned from exile as an ordinary citizen
  • (1994) A military-backed coup staged by Letsie III ousted the government
  • (1995) Moshoeshoe II restored to the throne, but died in a car crash; Letsie III restored as king
  • (1997) The Lesotho Congress of Democrats (LCD) is formed by Ntsu Mokhehle
  • (1998) LCD won general elections with Pakalitha Mosisili as prime minister; oppositional protests sparked rioting causing the South African Development Community to send military forces to restore order; the Multiparty Interim Political Authority is established to review electoral processes for future elections
  • (2002) LCD won parliamentary elections held under the new system; Prime Minister Mosisili sworn-in for second 5-year term
  • (2004) State of emergency declared after a three-year struggle against drought caused food shortages
  • (2004) The first phase of the multi-billion dollar Lesotho Highlands Water Project opened supplying water to South Africa
  • (2007) Leaders of the opposition challenged the outcome of early parliamentary elections after the ruling LCD won
  • (2007) Lesotho affected by its most severe drought in 30 years
  • (2009) Prime Minister Mosisili survived apparent assassination attempt
  • (2012) Thomas Thabane elected prime minister
  • (2014) The parliament has been suspended amidst coup fears (June)
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Lesotho Trivia

What is the Currency of Lesotho?

The official currency of Lesotho is the Lesotho loti.

What is the Currency of Lesotho?

What is the biggest city in Lesotho?

Maseru is the largest city in Lesotho and the capital of the country. The city has more than 200,000 people.

Biggest Cities In Lesotho

What Kind of Government Does Lesotho Have?

Lesotho is a parliamentary representative democratic constitutional monarchy.

What Type Of Government Does Lesotho Have?

What Languages Are Spoken In Lesotho?

English and Sesotho are the official languages of Lesotho. Sesotho is also the country’s national language. It is a Southern Bantu language that is spoken as a first language by over 90% of Lesotho’s population. Zulu, Phuthi, and Xhosa are some of the other languages spoken by small sections of the country’s population. Afrikaans is spoken by a section of immigrants in Lesotho.

Languages Of Lesotho

What is the Capital of Lesotho?

Maseru is the capital city of Lesotho, a country in southern part of the African continent.

What Is the Capital of Lesotho?

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Africa