Which European Countries Share a Name with Their Capital?

The city-state of Monaco is located on the coast of the Mediterranean Sea.
The city-state of Monaco is located on the coast of the Mediterranean Sea.

Country capitals of the world are as unique as they are similar. These administrative centers serve as the heart of political (and often economic) activity. Geographically speaking, capitals are located in a number of climates and environments. Additionally, capitals of the world have unique names, which may have been chosen to represent the place, culture, or even a person. In some cases, capitals have the same name as the country in which they are located. This article highlights the five European countries that share a name with their capital.

Vatican City

Vatican City is an autonomous nation located in the Italian city of Rome. It covers just 0.17 square miles and has a population size of only around 1,000 individuals. This small size means that the country and the city occupy the same area, and hence have the same name. Vatican City is famous as the home of the Pope, head of the Roman Catholic Church. The city-state receives a number of tourists and religious pilgrims every year. It is also home to the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica.


Monaco, like Vatican City, is also considered a city-state. It is located within France, in the French Riviera region and along the Mediterranean Sea. It covers a total area of only 0.78 square miles and has a population of 37,308 individuals. These statistics make Monaco the most densely populated autonomous nation in the world. Monaco is known as a popular destination for wealthy travelers and is home to a large gambling and casino industry. Although located in Europe, Monaco is not a member of the European Union.


Luxembourg is located to the north of France, where it covers an area of 998 square miles and has a population size of 576,249 individuals. The country has several cities within its borders, making it the first non-city-state on this list. The nation's capital, Luxembourg City, is located in the southern region of the country, where the Petrusse and Alzette rivers come together. The entire metropolitan area is home to approximately 180,000 people. In addition to being the political capital of Luxembourg, it is also the country's banking and financial hub.


Andorra is located in the Pyrenees mountains, north of Catalonia and south of France. It covers an area of 180.55 square miles, making it a microstate, and has a population size of 77,281. The capital of Andorra is Andorra de la Vella, which has a population of 22,256 individuals. The city is situated at an altitude of 3,356 feet above sea level. The national economy relies on tourism, especially ski resorts.

San Marino

San Marino is located in the northern region of Italy, where it is considered an enclaved nation. It covers a total area of 23.6 square miles, which also gives it a microstate status, and has a population size of approximately 33,562 individuals. The capital of San Marino is the City of San Marino, which is home to 4,128 residents. The City of San Marino is located on the highest peak in the country, which has an elevation of 2,457 feet above sea level. San Marino's economy relies on tourism, stone extraction, and postal stamp sales.


More in World Facts